11 replies to this topic

#1 33Diane

33Diane

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 15 December 2012 - 08:43 PM

I'm new to all this and awaiting my cp results. I've been reading these forums and have a few questions about getting diagnosed/tested. I notice some people label themselves with different allergies or sensitivities to gluten, soy, yeast, dairy, etc. I am curious how do you find this out? Do you see an allergist? Do you get a pin prick test or blood work? Does your gp help you figure this out? If my cp is neg for celiac, can it still show intolerance, or is that another test?

I personally don't think I will be positive for celiac, but I think I have an intolerance or sensitivity (is that the same thing?) to something. My symptoms are more constipation, bloating, mental fog, tiredness, and difficulty keeping my weight down, despite intense exercise. I always though my problem was just "carbs" and only could distinguish that I ate some carb (bread, pasta, etc), which is why I felt bad. I have tried to be low carb for years. Now I do think it is more specifically related to wheat, but wonder about yeast and soy as I see others mentioning them. I have a large amount of environmental allergies and food allergies to nuts and egg whites. However the last I was tested for food allergies was 30 years ago. If it is not celiac, how do you find out what it is?

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 shadowicewolf

shadowicewolf

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,768 posts

Posted 15 December 2012 - 10:12 PM

Basically, the only difference i've heard between celiac and an intolerence is that celaic does damage due to being an AI disease.

People often times do elimination diets. Removing everything that could potentially be problematic and then slowly (once a week or so) adding an item back in.

#3 Juliebove

Juliebove

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,650 posts

Posted 16 December 2012 - 01:33 AM