Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Pork Tenderloin & Pot Roast - Are Meats Gluten-Free?

13 posts in this topic

I bought both of these at a health food store for dishes I'm making tomorrow & Tuesday. They both say, "Minimally Processed. No Artificial Ingredients. No Added Enhancers or Solutions".

Are these safe to eat? I'm a newbie and am eight days out from being glutened and cannot afford to be ill right now!!

Please help.

Cali

Ads by Google:

Yes, I would think you could safely eat these. They have not been injected with any gluten-containing broth and have not been rubbed with any gluten-containing spice mixtures, i.e., nothing has been added to them is what they are saying. So unless they were cc'd by the abbatoir where they were slaughtered (not likely for gluten at least) they should be safe for you. All fresh meat that has been properly handled and not 'enhanced' is safe.

Thank you. The pork tenderloin packaging left off the words " No Added Enhancers or Solutions" so I may have to give it to my neighbors!

Normally they inject a salt solution to keep the meat looking fresh :blink: no gluten in it, but my stomach doesn't like it.

If you are in the US, USDA regulations require any grain product in meat be disclosed.

If you are in the US, USDA regulations require any grain product in meat be disclosed.

Im glad u brought up the usda info which leads me to ask this question. Grain fed beef or grass fed beef? obviously I always try and buy grass fed...no artifical anything...etc etc.....we recently got a xmas gift from an oregon beef farm that they claim to be gluten-free but there livestock is raised on a all natural grain diet....what im wondering is if the livestock is eating grain does that mean or at least could it mean that when I eat that livestock am i eating grain?