Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Hello--New & Scared

10 posts in this topic

Hi! I am very new to the celiac world last week had blood test and my GI doc told me it was positive for celiac disease.My tTG was 100, I am having an endiscopy on Jan 10. Will the doctor be able to tell me right away or will I have to wait again for results? I plan to go gluten free on Jan 10. :( I was diagnosed 15-20 years ago had extremely bad runs and lost about 30 pounds that lasted for several months. After going to several GI's last one told me back then I had ciliac disease-- (don't remember what was done) but the next day the runs stopped and never started again--so I continued to eat everything & anything. This past year, I developed an annoying itch, blood test from dermatologist found elevated platelets 575 at highest. Went to hematologist/oncologist and platelet levels had dropped to 435 by then,(stop craving pretzels) but he ordered all the cancer tests-- and came back negative. :)) He took platlets again and dropped couple more points. Reading something about thrombosytis (sp) and it mentioned celiac disease and jogged my memory. This past year I also suddenly developed a severe craving for honey wheat pretzels and consumed half bag a night for quite awhile--that is when itching in hair and face usually sometimes all over) increased---then the craving just stopped. No blisters or rash on skin, but have had lots of canker soars especially over the past few years, also tingling in my legs I thought was Restless Legs.Took Hylands Restful Legs and then it went away when taken. I don't know which way to turn, have started buying gluten free foods in Whole Foods, but WOW, really expensive!! I don't like to bake so that's out. I really don't like to cook much either. Hubby does most of the cooking, he's Italian so we eat lots of pasta. Now I hear abo