This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

runsuzannerun

runsuzannerun Newbie

I am an emerging professional distance runner and have suffered from all of the celiac symptoms in the book. I have also had hypothyroidism for about 12 years and have had to increase my dose after every visit due to malabsorption. My symptoms started about 3 years ago when I started running and were almost unbearable, and I have also been suffering from anemia.

I only became aware of celiac disease after another runner suffering from the same symptoms was diagnosed. Not knowing much about it, I skipped the blood tests and went straight to the GI. The nurse practioner said it sounded like classic celiac and had no problem getting me in for the endoscopy. When I went in for the procedure, the official "doctor" asked me what my problems were. I told him that I am convinced I had celiac disease, and his reply was, "you don't have celiac." This really concerned me, but I was already hooked up to the IV and prepped.

When I called for my results, they said that they were negative, but they found some redness and chronic inflammation that was from gastritis. They said I should come back in for a follow-up and think about getting a colonoscopy. Completely unconvinced and frustrated, I asked to see the results for myself. They sent me the actual pictures from the biopsy, and I spent hours comparing them to other biopsies of people with celiac disease. Clearly, I am not a doctor, but my biopsies looked identical to other biopsies with a celiac disease diagnosis! The vili are definitely blunted and much shorter than they should be.