Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Vodkas


  • Please log in to reply

6 replies to this topic

#1 AmyVC

 
AmyVC

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
 

Posted 03 January 2013 - 01:47 PM

I'm very confused about vodka. Is it gluten free or not? My sister was diagnosed with Celiac over 10 years ago and swears only potato vodka is safe. I was just diagnosed 2 months ago. Everything I read about vodka is ...conflicting. Maybe my sister is going off old information...?
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Marilyn R

 
Marilyn R

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,484 posts
 

Posted 03 January 2013 - 04:25 PM

They say all distrilled liquour is gluten-free because of the triple distillation process.

I personally really like Luksusowa vodka. It's made from potatoes and has won some impressive taste awards. Look for the red label and confusing name.
  • 0
Positive improvement from elimination diet. Mother dx'd by Mayo Clinic in late 1980s. Negative blood tests and Upper & Lower GI biopsy. Parathyroidectomy 12/09. Recurring high calcium level 4/10. Gluten-free 4/10. Soy & Dairy Free 6/10. Corn free 7/10. Grain free except rice 8/10. Legume free 6/11. Fighting the battle of the battle within myself, and I'm going to win!

As of 2/12, tolerating dairy, corn, legumes and some soy, but I limit soy to tamari sauce or modest soy additives. Won't ever try quinoa again!

Discoid Lupus from skin biopsy 2011, discovered 2/12 when picking up medical records. Systemic Lupus Dx 6/12. Shingles 10/12.

#3 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,048 posts
 

Posted 03 January 2013 - 05:10 PM

It is generally accepted that distilled spirits are gluten-free, since the gluten molecule is too large and heavy to be vaporized. Nevertheless, some very sensitive celiacs report reacting to grain-alcohol spirits. Fragments of the molecule could get into the distillate, and cause a reaction in those people. I can drink whisky without issue.

There are potato vodkas available. Smirnoff is made from corn, which is not a gluten grain.
  • 1
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#4 MrsVJW

 
MrsVJW

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
 

Posted 04 January 2013 - 10:20 AM

Bambora is a brand out of Australia, and it's made from grapes, not grain. And it's not as expensive as potato vodka usually is.
  • 0

#5 archaeo in FL

 
archaeo in FL

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
 

Posted 07 January 2013 - 04:40 AM

As Peter said, all distilled liquor is supposed to be gluten-free - but I've had people quickly jump on me to tell me about their reactions, so I guess super-sensitive Celiacs need to be careful. I really like Tito's - it's made in Texas, and is now being marketed as gluten-free (which makes me mad, given that all liquor is supposed to be - but maybe even super sensitive folks can have it). I just happen to really like it, and it's not expensive!
  • 0

#6 MJ_S

 
MJ_S

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 171 posts
 

Posted 07 January 2013 - 05:39 AM

I drink Cold River vodka - made in Maine from potatoes.
I've reacted to Sake in the past, which (at the least the kind I tried) uses barley early in the process (before distillation). Super-sensitives do need to be careful.
  • 0

Blood Tests: TTG IgA Negative / Total IGA Normal

Skin: Confirmed DH
Genetic: DQ8 & DQ6 Positive (DQA1*0301, DQB1*0302, DQA1*0103, DQB1*0603)
Free Of: Gluten 1/1/11, Dairy 2010, Soy 2011


#7 ByeByeBarley

 
ByeByeBarley

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
 

Posted 11 January 2013 - 05:15 PM

I drink Cold River vodka - made in Maine from potatoes.
I've reacted to Sake in the past, which (at the least the kind I tried) uses barley early in the process (before distillation). Super-sensitives do need to be careful.


In addition to Cold River's regular vodka, they also have a very good blueberry vodka. Slightly off topic, but they also have a potato gin, which makes an excellent G&T!
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: