4 replies to this topic

#1 Carla44

Carla44

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 02:32 PM

My 6 year old son just started a gluten free diet 3 weeks ago after he and I were both diagnosed with Celiacs. Since starting him on the diet he has had terrible nightmares / night terrors multiple times each night. He cries out like he is in pain and is in a cold sweat. Additionally, he has developed a rash across his bottom (but it looks similar to the existing rash he has always had on his knees and elbows that seems to be a symptom of Celiacs. He has also had a few tantrums that have been completely out of character for him.
Just wanted to know if anyone else has experienced similar symptoms when putting their child on a gluten- free diet? I'm very new to this.... Are these with-drawl symptoms from gluten coming out of the body?
Diagnosed with Celiacs December 2012 after years of inconclusive Dr's visits and medical procedures. 6 year old son was also tested and diagnosed late December 2012.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 seezee

seezee

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 208 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 04:41 PM

My daughter was a beast when we first went gluten free. Very nice girl normally. I don't know if it was biological or emotional or both, but it got better.

#3 redjasper

redjasper

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 08 January 2013 - 04:49 AM