Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Question For Any Jewish People Here...
0

8 posts in this topic

I recently stopped by a new-to-me grocery store in my area, an ordinary Giant except that it's HUGE! (a giant Giant, hehe) -- Anyway, I went browsing up and down the aisles and discovered all sorts of wonderful things, including gluten-free matzoh! It's Yehuda brand, imported from Israel. It says on the box "matzo-style cracker" and "Not a replacement for matzo at the seder."

So that got me to wondering about Jewish people with celiac disease. Does the Jewish faith say that the matzoh must be wheat, like I understand the Catholic church says also for the communion wafers? Or would some rabbis -- maybe the ones who aren't Orthodox? -- allow this gluten-free matzoh for the seder meal?

Just wondering...

(and, this matzoh is fabulous! I've always loved eating it with some butter and very thinly sliced cheese. yummmmmmmmmmmmm)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Matzoh is "unleavened bread" I don't know that is needs to be made from wheat - but it typically is. A Jewish person does not HAVE to eat matzoh during Passover (an eight day holiday) , however they are not suppose to eat any bread, crackers or leavened products - so matzoh fills in as a good substitute. Matzoh is eaten as an integral part of the Passover seder - special meal which commences Passover. I can't imagine that anyone - except someone who is extremely Orthodox - would mind if gluten free matzoh was served at a gluten free seder. I plan on buying some - as well as some gluten free matzoh ball mix which I've spotted on-line.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I go to the grocery after a Jewish holiday and buy gluten-free noodles half to 75% off. Also, the frozen challah rolls.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Matzoh for the Seder must be made from one of five gluten-containing grains, not necessarily only wheat. According to sources, for example from an article here:

to the Orthodox Union, an
on,
certifying kosher food: “Regretfully, because one can only perform the mitzvah
[definition: a required good deed]
o
f eating matzot at the Seder with a matzo that is made from one of the five varieties of grain (barley, wheat, rye, oats, and spelt), eating matzot using any of the other flours that are gluten-free would still not enable one to fulfill the mitzvah.” Gluten is found in wheat, rye, and barley.

We are only required to eat Matzoh during the Passover Seder - usually first night and second night of the 8 day festival. Having said that, the explanation offered above is mostly for orthodox Jewish people. With so many different levels of observance, many of the not-so-orthodox (and they certainly outnumber the orthodox) might say that gluten-free Matzoh is acceptable, even if it goes against what is written and the interpretations the Rabbis have made over the years.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maybe it is my own ignorance regarding the Jewish faith, but wouldn't even Orthodox rabbis allow some latitude to those who have a medical condition?

I have some Muslim friends, and they do not need to fast during Ramadan if they have a medical condition that would make fasting worsen their condition. I just assumed all religions had the same sorts of guidelines.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Maybe it is my own ignorance regarding the Jewish faith, but wouldn't even Orthodox rabbis allow some latitude to those who have a medical condition?

I have some Muslim friends, and they do not need to fast during Ramadan if they have a medical condition that would make fasting worsen their condition. I just assumed all religions had the same sorts of guidelines.

I believe the answer would be YES
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maybe it is my own ignorance regarding the Jewish faith, but wouldn't even Orthodox rabbis allow some latitude to those who have a medical condition?

I have some Muslim friends, and they do not need to fast during Ramadan if they have a medical condition that would make fasting worsen their condition. I just assumed all religions had the same sorts of guidelines.

I believe the answer would be YES

I am not Jewish, but through my work in a large multi-faith organization, I do have some understanding.

There are 613 commandments, or mitzvah, given in the Torah. When human life or health is at risk, any of them may be broken for that purpose. For example, driving is forbidden on the Sabbath, but a motorized ambulance may respond to a need and transport a patient to hospital. Actual observance of individual laws varies among the Orthodox, Conservative, and Reform branches of Judaism.

So, if eating the matzoh with gluten would endanger your health, my understanding is that there would be no sin in not adhering to the mitzvah in that case.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Interesting. Thanks for all the info. :)

And, since I first posted my question I've been back to that grocery store and bought two more boxes of matzoh. :wub: My husband said "hey, when are you going to buy some regular for me, since you won't let me touch yours?" :lol: (and yes, they are not allowed even to LOOK at my special gluten-free stuff, not if it involves extra money and/or a trip to somewhere special like for this matzoh.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,384
    • Total Posts
      920,607
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Hey guys, the last year and a month of transitioning to totally gluten free was hard, but I now seem to be healthy. The first six months I got horrible cramps that would suddenly come and hit hard, but I really havent seen any of those since about February-March. One thing that I wouldnt say has gotten better is my psyche. I was always sort of an anxious person (hard not to be when you dont feel well yet you have "IBS" and you're just "nervous", which all of you probably know), but I am borderline hermit now. I finally went to the doctor today and was prescribed prozac, so hopefully that helps, but I was just wondering about you guys? Thanks  
    • Thank-you, thank-you! I am so relieved to have input from others who have experience with celiac disease. I'm not sure what I'm going to do about the school cafeteria. I'll ask our very nice and experienced Cafe Mgr for realistic info and details. My primary concern is the safety of my daughter and packing a lunch will not be that big a deal, even though she prefers the fresh prep instead of lunchbox offerings. Sigh. It sounds as if the 504 is unquestionably the preference over the IHCP, since the 504 is binding and follows the student through his/her academic career. I have a meeting with the admin team on Tuesday. Until then, I'm reading lots so i can be informed. And, dkader, I sent you a private message via the blog's feature. I'd certainly love to read the 504 info you have squirreled away. Thank-you so much!
    • The risk of a non-celiac getting intestinal lymphoma is extremely tiny.  The risk of someone with refractory celiac disease is higher (I think maybe double?) but 2 x extremely tiny is still extremely tiny, and an elevated antibody level is not enough to say you have the refractory version.  You could have a repeat endoscopy to look for damage.  Are you still having symptoms?
    • Hello... i got dignoised July 11th... since then I found out I can't handle corn, garlic or dairy.... her stomic might be extra sensitive right now.... im not a doc but I have noticed with out those three foods I have felt better but I belive I might have to cut out more  good luck with you child!!! Its hard
    • About the dairy...I have been giving her lactose free milk and she doesn't have much else for dairy. I am lactose intolerant and I get nausea right away and then get diarrhea later. My daughter doesn't seem to have the same type of reaction I do, so I don't think it's that. For those that are lactose intolerant, were you sick right after eating lactose, or did it take a few hours or days?
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,455
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    JLeigh
    Joined