This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Family Members Who Just Don't "get It"..

gancan

gancan Apprentice

I have been eating gluten free since 10/2012 and feeling better.. (I have had some slip ups that have made me very sick - especially over the holidays since that was a completely new experience). I have been loving the feeling of eating and knowing I won't get sick. I have read a new book which gave me SO much information on how to read ingredient labels and cross contamination. I recently went shopping at a local health food store and had a basket full of foods that proudly stamped their products as "gluten-free"! The feeling when I left the store was so uplifting, I couldn't wait to get home and try some of the new foods and fill my newly designated cupboard with my goodies! But even after having these moments of motivation that I am on the right track to feeling healthy, today I am struggling with a feeling of sadness. I have a battle going on with my emotions when I am in social situations. I have been trying to NOT be the topic of conversation at the dinner table because I don't want to feel like the outcast.. but I also feel like people can be insensitive by expecting me to be a part of social dinner gatherings and just NOT eat certain foods without providing an option of something gluten free I can have to replace what I am missing out on. We went out to dinner to a favorite restaurant we have gone to for YEARS which is a family style all you can eat restaurant where they bring bowls of pasta, rolls, fries, chicken and salad with their signature dressing untill you are stuffed. We called ahead and asked how the