Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Newbie Here - Dr. Thinks It Is Celiac Disease

4 posts in this topic

Hello - this is a great website - I have been reading up a bunch in here. My problems go back 10 years - I was having digestion issues - constipation and indigestion and went to the gastro. I was dx'd with IBS-C and put on Nexium and back then Zelnorm and after 6 months of being treated I felt better. I was not told to stay away from certain foods but pretty much anything with bread or pasta in it bothered me and now it's all starting again.

A year ago I was dx'd with hypothyroid and am on .075mg Levothyroxine for that. It came back in my bloodwork and I was losing weight and had hairloss. Still had tummy troubles but attributed it to stress and eating poorly. I started again with tummy troubles over the summer - more weight loss, I'd get bloated and gassy & constipated after eating pizza, breads or pastas which I love.

I was sick all through the hoidays as I was eating so much stuff - stuffing, breads, pastas, pizzas, etc. And the days I felt very ill, I just drank water and did not eat - I had no appetite.

3 weeks ago I said enough is enough and I started a food diary. I wrote down everything I ate. There were days where I wanted to cut out the breads and pastas and I did. I can tell you on those days I felt much better. The constipation was so bad I had a chronic low back ache but the days I didn't eat this stuff I felt good.

Also to help with the constipation I am taking Magnesium Oxide and it helps me go - I can go every day now but still feel like I can't "finish".