Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Questions.....
0

7 posts in this topic

not sure if this is the correct section to post these in but i had some questions that i am hoping you all could help me out with.....

what is the difference between whole grain and whole wheat? how come you can have whole grain rice or whole grain rice cakes and not react like you would if you ate something whole wheat? are they completely different things?

is lemon water good for the gut? i heard it is but just wanted to make sure before i start drinking it daily.

i had more questions, but i have pretty bad mental fog this week.....when i think of the rest i'll come back and post.....thanks all!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Whole grain generally means that the grain, of whatever type, has not been refined in any way. For example, whole grain wheat bread should have (at least some) whole, unrefined wheat grains in it -- in practice most have a few scattered on top, but do have a certain proportion of whole grain wheat flour, i.e., flour made without first removing the outer husk (the bran) from the wheat before milling. Brown rice is whole grain rice because it retains the bran; white rice has had the bran removed. "Whole grain" says nothing about what is contained within the grain which is what we react to if we have a reaction. Each type of grain has a different kind of protein in it. The proteins of wheat, barley and rye are so similar that they have been grouped together because these are the grains celiacs react to, and are commonly called gluten grains. While other grains also contain a "gluten" protein (and this is the confusing part), they are a different structure of gluten protein than found in wheat, barley and rye, and so are generally referred to by the specific kind of protein they contain, with the term 'gluten' being reserved for wheat, barley and rye.

Lemon water is fine for the gut so long as you do not react to lemons as I do. There is no blanket statement of what is good for everyone; there is only the blanket statement that gluten is bad for celiacs and gluten intolerants. We are all different and react to different foods. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

what is the difference between whole grain and whole wheat? how come you can have whole grain rice or whole grain rice cakes and not react like you would if you ate something whole wheat? are they completely different things?

I hope I am understanding you correctly.....whole grain wheat (any form of wheat) has a protein that if ingested, kicks off a gluten response in those of us with Celiac Disease. Rice, or whole grain rice does not contain that protein, which bothers us. Rice is okay for us to eat if gluten is your only issue. Rice is okay, wheat anything is not. ;)

Mushroom offered a great explaination....I slid you some Cliff Notes. :P:D No test tomorrow.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lemon water can be a little hard on your teeth..make sure you clean your teeth well after drinking!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks everyone for the detailed explanation. That was a great help!

I have another question: how many of you are on a daily antihistamine? I have been on daily antihistamine since my hive breakout back in august 2012.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Thanks everyone for the detailed explanation. That was a great help!

I have another question: how many of you are on a daily antihistamine? I have been on daily antihistamine since my hive breakout back in august 2012.

I've got a better question for you. How many of you were on a daily anti-histamine and no longer are?

Answer: Me! Me! Me! Me!!!! :)

I used to take anti-histmaines every day and a couple times day for that matter, morning and evening. I had hay-fever symptoms that made it hard to go outside at some times of year. Now I don't take anti-histamines very often at all. I am still somewhat reactive to cats, have been for a longtime. But my other allergic responses have tuned way down to where I don't need anit-histamines.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've got a better question for you. How many of you were on a daily anti-histamine and no longer are?

Answer: Me! Me! Me! Me!!!! :)

I used to take anti-histmaines every day and a couple times day for that matter, morning and evening. I had hay-fever symptoms that made it hard to go outside at some times of year. Now I don't take anti-histamines very often at all. I am still somewhat reactive to cats, have been for a longtime. But my other allergic responses have tuned way down to where I don't need anit-histamines.

how long did it take you to come off the antihistamines? i hate taking them everyday, but i do for itchy skin and hives. how did you know when you could officially stop taking them? i never used to have any seasonal allergies at all. now everything bothers me and even dust. it's very frustrating. thanks.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,098
    • Total Posts
      920,348
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I eat them with no issues and know several other Celiacs that eat them with no issue.
    • I am sorry that you are sick! i think you need to really adhere to a gluten free diet that consists of ONLY whole foods (no processed gluten-free foods) and do not go out to eat, until you start to see improvement.  Each tiny gluten exposure can set you back.  It sounds like you really became even more ill after the gluten challenge.   I was just anemic when diagnosed.  I waited seven weeks for my endoscopy due to work issues, so i took the time to consume lots of gluten.  Like a loaf of sourdough per day not to mention all the cakes, cookies that I loved.  (Okay, I just ate a few out of each package......)  by the end of seven weeks, I knew I had celiac disease.  I had a bloated stomach visible under my left rib cage, pinching when I bent over, indigestion, etc.  Not to mention some weird Fibro pain my my shoulders, tingly legs, etc.   Most resolved, but it took about two years. If you  ask for thyroid panel, be sure it includes testing for thyroid antibodies.   
    • My daughter, who is almost 21 and has celiac disease, was diagnosed with Epilepsy a year ago. Hindsight being 20/20, we realized she had been having seizure since she was a teenager but the random passing out and feelings of being 'out of it' were attributed to dehydration or poor nutrition and sleep habits during numerous trips to the emergency room. In our reading about Epilepsy, I have found some mention of celiac and gluten issue connections and even where a strict adherence to a gluten-free diet provided a lot of improve the with frequency and severity of seizures.  I would be interested to know if anyone else shares this experience.
    • I have also reacted to various Planters products, believing them to be safe because gluten is not listed in the allergens but have had almost identical reactions to yours.  It did not occur to me that I might be getting zapped from them until just recently when I ate some of their Salt and Vinegar almonds and became really ill and then recognized that I had reacted to them before. I have notice in the past few months that the 'Hermans' brand nuts, which have never mentioned wheat in their allergens now carries the 'processed in a plant that processes wheat' disclaimer.  It makes me wonder if all nuts are processed in the same manner and if all nuts and nut products should be considered unsafe? I know that I will not trust the Planters brand any longer regardless of whether wheat is listed or not.
    • I've heard some people say that they're gluten free, and some say they're not.. I had a container of planter's cashews that I ate a few days ago and I haven't been feeling that great since then. I thought I was fine, but yesterday I woke up with a headache and was feeling really gassy all day. Then since last night, every once in a while I'll have some stomach cramps. They last for a few minutes and then go away.. that has happened 3 or 4 times since last night. It seems weird that I wouldn't have a reaction right away though.. or at least within a few hours of eating them. I ate some on thursday and on friday, and I didn't really start to feel sick until saturday. It's been a while since I last got glutened though, so maybe my reaction has changed? Or maybe I'm being paranoid and I just ate too many cashews haha. But that's the only thing I've eaten in the past like 2 weeks that was different. Has anyone else had a problem with planter's nuts?
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,133
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Mycaringkidsmom
    Joined