Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Any Issues With Kind Bars?
0

22 posts in this topic

The apple cinnamon and pecan Kind bar wasn't too kind to me this afternoon.

I had it with Starbucks coffee so maybe it was just hard on my stomach, but I haven't experienced such bad stomach issues in a long time.

I'll mention that I had Starbucks coffee last week (with a chocolate/peanut butter Kind bar) without issue.

Ingredients: Almonds, cashews, pecans, dried apples (apples, evaporated cane juice), honey, non GMO glucose, raisins, crisp rice, flax seeds, chicory root fiber, soy lecithin, cinnamon.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Some days bars like Kind+ are just too sweet for me. And too sweet upsets my stomach. That's just me, though.

And then it's virus season....so hopefully it was just the bar and coffee...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I used to love KIND bars but began to react to them last spring and thought I was getting cross-contaminated. Since then I have been diagnosed with a sulfite intolerance, and looking back, my GI reactions were likely due to the sulfites in the dried fruits. Just something to consider. I was able to eat KIND bars for my first 2 years being gluten-free without a problem.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, I did have problems with them. I really liked them, but I had to give them up. I am intolerant to oat avenin as well as gluten, and they make oat containing products. I assume that is why they bothered me.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The apple cinnamon and pecan Kind bar wasn't too kind to me this afternoon.

I had it with Starbucks coffee so maybe it was just hard on my stomach, but I haven't experienced such bad stomach issues in a long time.

I'll mention that I had Starbucks coffee last week (with a chocolate/peanut butter Kind bar) without issue.

Ingredients: Almonds, cashews, pecans, dried apples (apples, evaporated cane juice), honey, non GMO glucose, raisins, crisp rice, flax seeds, chicory root fiber, soy lecithin, cinnamon.

I have 'issues' (diagnosed allergies) to evaporated cane juice from cane sugar and soy lecithin from soy. So I won't eat Kind bars.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Yes, I did have problems with them. I really liked them, but I had to give them up. I am intolerant to oat avenin as well as gluten, and they make oat containing products. I assume that is why they bothered me.

Hi, I wrote to Kind Bar manufacturers today to inquire about this. I also wonder whether the issue may be the Alpha Tocopheryl / Vitamin E (most typically from wheat germ), which is known to be very susceptible to cross-contamination, since it is, after all, WHEAT.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've been eating these bars for about a year and concerning gluten, been fine with them. Depends on your sensitivity to gluten. GI Doc says I'm OK with 0 to 19 ppm as labeled gluten free. I drink a glass of water with each bar and it helps with digestion.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kind LLC does label their nutrition bars as gluten free. This means it contains, if any, at 0 to 19 ppm gluten. Err on the side of caution depending on your sensitivity to gluten.

You would need to contact them to see if they test and at what sensitivity. There is no legal definition in the US of gluten free. Testing is not required to label something gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

.............. the issue may be the Alpha Tocopheryl / Vitamin E (most typically from wheat germ), which is known to be very susceptible to cross-contamination, since it is, after all, WHEAT.

Thanks for posting this Vit. E issue. I looked at my MultiVit. which listed Vit E(60 IU, 200%DV) as dL alpha T( the synthetic version). Need to find a new brand now.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for posting this Vit. E issue. I looked at my MultiVit. which listed Vit E(60 IU, 200%DV) as dL alpha T( the synthetic version). Need to find a new brand now.

Synthetic vitamin E is often made from petroleum sources.

Hi, I wrote to Kind Bar manufacturers today to inquire about this. I also wonder whether the issue may be the Alpha Tocopheryl / Vitamin E (most typically from wheat germ), which is known to be very susceptible to cross-contamination, since it is, after all, WHEAT.

Regarding Vitamin E and mixed tocopherols. This is a frequent question on here.

Of course, we should not eat wheat germ, but the oil is highly refined.

If a food or supplement includes as an ingredient vitamin E derived from wheat germ oil that is not

highly refined, and the vitamin E contains wheat protein, the word wheat

must be included on the label, either in the ingredients list or "Contains: ":

Tocopherols are a class of organic chemicals that are usually rich in vitamin E, a natural preservative. They can be derived from a number of sources. The most common is soybean oil, although wheat germ oil can also be used. Tocopherols are highly refined extracts from refined oils, and are gluten-free.

The Canadian Celiac Association lists tocopherols as a safe ingredient in food, without exception.

please, read this article by Tricia Thompson, a celiac savvy dietician,.

http://www.glutenfre...mOilBlog.14.pdf

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, I did have problems with them. I really liked them, but I had to give them up. I am intolerant to oat avenin as well as gluten, and they make oat containing products. I assume that is why they bothered me.

}:-(  I hate that oats are in everything. Thanks for the heads up, I just discovered kind bars a couple weeks ago (rather, I finally caved into their high price because I found I couldn't eat the nuts had been eating.)

 

My vitamin E is from non GMO soy, and it's just a regular Jamieson vitamin, labelled gluten free of course.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm a little late, and it could be the kind bars but….

 

I've been glutened by Starbucks a number of times. They sometimes sample/handle pastries and although they use pastry tongs or gloves, they still can cause minute cross contamination on hands, cups etc.

 

I can have an americano one day and be fine, but another day order the exact same thing and get a reaction. If someone cute up a pastry earlier that day and then grabbed the cups or made my drink I'm in trouble.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My youngest son and I don't eat Kind bars because of the cc from gluten free oats.  My oldest son is fine with them. 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I googled this topic and here it is!  Like the first poster last year, I usually have a Kind bar with an iced latte at Starbucks. Lately though, I am getting like an indigestion. I eat a Kind bar every day, it's my go-to quick snack on the go.  

 

Maybe it's the cc with oats?  Or maybe the Starbucks, but I heard the plain latte's are reasonably safe.

 

I get the worst constrochondritis-type pain in my sternum and pain in the ribs there after having this combo.

 

I don't think they are certified gluten free, are they?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have GI issues every time I eat KIND bars, I just assumed I had a sensitivity to ANOTHER food...  

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have GI issues every time I eat KIND bars, I just assumed I had a sensitivity to ANOTHER food...  

I started eating the chocolate and sea salt ones after only eating the Madagascar Vanilla.  I stopped completely and now I tried the Madagascar again and it wasn't as bad.  Honestly, the product does not say certified gluten free, so I really don't know the ppm's of the product.  Plus it does not indicate anything about oats, which would definitely bother me.

 

any conclusions?  have you stopped Kind bars altogether?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I definitely react to KIND bars.  They are gluten free up to the USDA standard of 20PPM, that's still too much for me.  I'm only able to eat certified gluten free foods. 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I definitely react to KIND bars.  They are gluten free up to the USDA standard of 20PPM, that's still too much for me.  I'm only able to eat certified gluten free foods. 

 

You know they are tested at that level?  I looked on the website and couldn't tell so I have emailed them.

 

Also, some certified gluten-free are tested at <20 ppm.  that does not mean that they have 19 ppm.  they could have 1 ppm or 0

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't know, I'm still fairly new to all of this.  I was reacting to them so I did some searching and found articles like this one:  http://www.glutenfreeislife.com/?p=6488

 

My understanding is that gluten free was gluten-free up to 20PPM, certified gluten free was gluten-free up to 10PPM and Celiac Sprue certified meant gluten free up to 5PPM. 

 

My nutritionist has restricted me to only certified gluten free foods, I was still reacting to products labeled gluten free.  I do wonder though, is even certified gluten-free still too much??  Just because we don't react to that amount, there is still some gluten in it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't know, I'm still fairly new to all of this.  I was reacting to them so I did some searching and found articles like this one:  http://www.glutenfreeislife.com/?p=6488

 

My understanding is that gluten free was gluten-free up to 20PPM, certified gluten free was gluten-free up to 10PPM and Celiac Sprue certified meant gluten free up to 5PPM. 

 

My nutritionist has restricted me to only certified gluten free foods, I was still reacting to products labeled gluten free.  I do wonder though, is even certified gluten-free still too much??  Just because we don't react to that amount, there is still some gluten in it.

 

 

That isn't how the testing works.  They use a test for <10 ppm.  That does not mean it had 9 ppm.  It just means it has less than 10.  0 is less than 10.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

for those worried about oat CC, please check out this thread when I e-mailed KIND earlier this year with that question.  Their oat containing products are made on separate lines than the nut bar products.

 

http://www.celiac.com/gluten-free/topic/106422-kind-nut-products/?hl=%2Bkind+%2Bbars

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They never bothered me and I am pretty sensitive to trace CC.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,375
    • Total Posts
      920,572
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • https://www.facebook.com/groups/SingaporeCeliacs/
    • Today was the big day when I went to the GI and this is the first time I have felt heard and taken care of.  I told him about the two celiac blood tests  (in my first post) normal, he said that often happens, even with people who do have celiac and he needed to see the report and pictures from my endoscope.    I had filled out the appropriate Kaiser paperwork for Sutter to send all my medical records, but they ended up sending a disc with records to me, which Sutter said they could not use.  We also talked about gluten sensitivity v. celiac, and he said a lot of people are sensitive to gluten even if they don't have celiac. He said that my symptoms sound like classic IBS, which can be caused by any number of things.  He asked if I would try the FODMAP diet, which limits certain foods and requires no gluten. He said my symptoms sound like classic IBS, which he said can be caused by any number of things, including gluten sensitivity.  He has asked if I would try the FODMAP diet, which has restricted foods as well as no gluten because most gluten products have wheat in them.  So, since I am planning on going gluten free anyway, and I don't want another endoscope or blood tests if absolutely necessary, I am going to try the FODMAP diet and see what happens. I filled a consent form at the GI office today to have all my records sent to him so he can view the endoscope pathology report and photos.  I have an appointment with a Registered Dietician on September 30, and follow up appointment the GI in 4 months. 
    • gluten-free andee, according to an article on celiac.com  that talks about this subject see this link http://www.celiac.com/articles/24406/1/Celiac-Diease-and-Other-Autoimmune-Diseases-Equals-Low-Inflammatory-Diet/Page1.html Quoting the author "In the author's personal experience, a gluten-free diet has many limitations. The reactivity between alpha gliadin and corn, millet, oats, rice and dairy has been denounced as invalid by gastroenterologists and celiac disease researchers. While at a medical school in Missouri, biopsies did not show improvement in villous atropy until all alpha gliadin sources and corn, millet, rice and oats were removed from the diet."  Note this research is two years old but hilites the problem with non-gluten rice protein that you are having. It is the alpha gliadin sources that it causing the cross reactivity you are experiencing when you eat rice protein's. She says quoting "Celiac disease has gotten the most attention in antibody research, but the current data on cross-reactivity of antibodies is allowing a better understanding of gluten sensitivity. Antigen reactivity to alpha-gliadin can trigger immune attacks on many individuals beyond those with positive DQ 2, DQ 8 and TTG test results. She goes on to say "A low inflammatory diet customized to each person through testing for cross-reactivity or elimination diet protocols is needed to restore a state of health and well-being."  which sounds exactly like what you are doing. If you are still having problems after elminating rice a 30 day elimination of all the alpha gliadin proteins might be in order.  Corn is a common reactivity problem I hear with a gluten allergy from my friends as well as the obvious lactose problems that can be common among celiacs.  But rarely do you hear Rice allergy's brought up in context of a gluten allergy. I am glad you are making progress on finding your triggers. Read the whole article for yourself to see if there are nuggets of truth I did not highlight in my response. I hope this is helpful. Good luck on your journey to health. Posterboy,
    • One other thing - you might be able to tolerate some dairy if it's only the FODMAPs problem. I discovered that many cheese such as cheddar have effectively no lactose. And my wife sometimes makes 24 hour yoghurt, which also has effectively no lactose. Those have been fine for my tummy.
    • Celiacs got better gluten-free. Post-war, grains became available again and the same patients got sick again. 1952 the Gluten-Free Diet is officially ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,451
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Chelsealarita
    Joined