OK this is new to me. I was always under the impression in Canada it was gluten-free but in the US it was not. Now there is that statement from the company about the processing removing the gluten. This is causing great concern about this product since it is made from malt which is normally a no no.
I guess this will be left to the individual as we all know there are some you partake in distilled hard stuff and there are some that won't.
I still drink vodka and other stuff so I think personally I will give it a try.
This is also similar to that new Spanish beer that is claiming to have gluten but lower than the legal linit amount.
Posted by killernj13
on 15 February 2011 - 10:02 AM
FALSE Reese's ARE gluten free, and always has been!! Those customer represetntatives apparantly have no clue what they are talking about!! I just had a Reese's today, and it was a recent one-the Valentine's Day one. Possibly they update them a lot, maybe they did. I also very highly doubt that there is only 3 gluten free products availiable right now. Come on! They were just lazy enough to READ 3 to you!
Before you come on here with your CAPS and your exclamation points please check your facts and read the entire thread. There have been some peanut butter cups that are not G.F in the past. They were the special holiday ones for Halloween and / or Easter. They may have changed for this year but I know I have seen wheat listed on them in the past. Also, Hershey's is not very consumer friendly when it comes to giving out their ingredients. So it is quite possible that the customer service rep only read those three items as they don't like to specifically state that products are gluten free since they cannot quarantee that their suppliers are using gluten-free items.