Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


mrparker

Member Since 22 Aug 2006
Offline Last Active Sep 04 2006 02:43 PM
-----

Posts I've Made

In Topic: Dairy And Hives, But Not Allergic?

23 August 2006 - 03:54 PM

You're in or around Austin, right?


Yes, I'm in Austin. Do you have an allergist recommendation that is Celiac savvy?

Thanks, Patrick

In Topic: Food Labels

23 August 2006 - 05:31 AM

Patrick, sorry I don't wan't to seem rude but we covered this one to death and back more than once.

The fact is some of us do get sick from grain distilled spirits ... and not from pure rum or tequila.


I don't doubt that some Celiac patients do get sick after drinking Vodka. The relevant question, though, is why do they get sick? Of the thousands of components you cite, maybe one (or more!) of them is the culprit, and it does not have to contain gluten. My Celiac son reacts to dairy, but he is not allergic and it does not contain gluten. Maybe something similar is going on with vodka and other distilled spirits.

Mathematical models are not a substitute for empirical evidence, which in this case would be actually testing the result of the distillation to see if it contained gluten. Have you done this, or can you point to others that have?

One of my in-laws cannot drink tequila, as it makes him sick. Scotch is not a problem, though, and he doesn't have a problem with gluten. But clearly something in tequila makes him ill, but it doesn't have to be gluten-related.

In Topic: Food Labels

22 August 2006 - 01:26 PM

I'm the same with vodka... i can risk an odd one every so often but if I drink one measure a day for a week it hits me.


I was under the impression that Vodka, and and other distilled liquors were gluten-free. Certainly this website lists them as such:

http://www.celiac.co...ml?p_prodid=271

Here's another source that touts distilled liquors as gluten-free:

"The American Dietetic Association (ADA) has published an updated and revised edition (6th) of the "Manual of Clinical Dietetics" that offers an international perspective on the dietary treatment of many diseases. The chapter on celiac disease, written by a team of dietitians, includes diet guidelines that are consistent with international standards. Therefore the chapter's list of safe foods includes buckwheat, quinoa, millet, amaranth, teff, distilled vinegar and distilled alcoholic beverages such as rum, gin, whiskey, and vodka."

http://www.enabling....celiac/ada.html

It's certainly possible that the alcohol itself or something else in the vodka could exacerbate an already irritated digestive tract. But vodka, even if made from grains, should be gluten-free. The distillation process should leave the gluten behind.

Patrick

In Topic: Food Label Law

22 August 2006 - 11:39 AM

wait, i'm not totally following. So does this mean that any products made recently enough to follow the new labeling laws will almost certainly have no hidden wheat sources? If what the above states, it's possible for non-wheat glutens to be used but very unlikely, is correct, then does that mean we can look for "allergens: wheat" and be safe if we don't see it?

I must be misreading that.


I think it does mean that products following the new labeling law DO have to have wheat listed, either in the ingredient list itself, or at the bottom in the "allergens" section. As I read the law, they have the option of doing it either way. What they can not do is list something like soy sauce that is made using wheat, and not list wheat anywhere.

As for the other gluten sources (barley, rye, etc.), I believe you would see those listed in the ingredient list. And they aren't generally used in things like "natural flavorings." To quote what I was told by an informed member:

"At that meeting Dana talked about hidden gluten. Her explanation is that while it is technically possible for natural flavors, spices etc. to contain a gluten source other than wheat, it is unlikely. She knew of no instance where this had occurred. Plus she spoke to a number of food manufacturers who said that barley, rye and oats do not work well in these situations and they are expensive.

So technically speaking it is possible for those other grains to be hidden, but it is unlikely. So, if it is not listed the food should be safe. "

In Topic: Food Label Law

22 August 2006 - 11:31 AM

Yeah, I was the one that started the post. I'm just trying to make sure I understand the situation!

Patrick