Jump to content

Follow Us:   Twitter Facebook Celiac.com Forum RSS      

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts
arrowShare this page:
Subscribe Today!

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:


Member Since 29 Aug 2006
Offline Last Active Nov 27 2006 05:39 PM

Posts I've Made

In Topic: Matzo Meal

09 October 2006 - 06:13 PM

Hi...matzo is unleavened bread that Jewish people eat during Passover because they cannot have bread that is leavened. Matzo is made with flour and water but does not have the same "rising power" as other breads, like white bread or italian bread. Its flat and cracker like. Matzo meal is just grinded up matzo crackers used to make matzo balls and other things during Passover. While matzo, especially matzo balls are delicious, IT IS NOT GLUTEN FREE.

In Topic: White Sauce In Chinese Restaurants

03 October 2006 - 10:52 AM

So I guess it's gluten free if it's in, say, a Kraft product, but if you're at a Chinese restaurant, perhaps avoid it.

No, I have no idea if Kraft uses MSG, I simply used it as an example because they are a label-friendly company.

Yeah, I guess so.

In Topic: White Sauce In Chinese Restaurants

03 October 2006 - 10:13 AM

That is what the celiac.com list says. I'm sorry, I should have clarified that it is made in the USA.

Yeah, see thats what scares me. I'm a nervous wreck when it comes to eating outside my home. I would be afraid that it may be a foreign product. That is the same argument with dextrin and maltodextrin. By law if it is made in the USA it must be derived from corn, but any where else and it probably has gluten in it. With MSG and Chinese food, normally you can't read the label of the MSG bottle to be sure where it was produced. And as you said, MSG could make anyone feel awful. So I would stay as far away from anything I wasn't 100% sure of anyways!

In Topic: White Sauce In Chinese Restaurants

03 October 2006 - 10:03 AM



Now, others may argue that MSG is not good for you IN GENERAL, but, in terms of gluten and Celiac, it is safe.

check out another discussion, very helpful: http://www.glutenfre...showtopic=20961

I thought it was only safe if it was made in the USA?

In Topic: White Sauce In Chinese Restaurants

03 October 2006 - 08:37 AM

I'd like to ask for clarification on the bolded comment (emphasis added by me).

I thought that MSG is usually gluten free but some people can react badly to it. So while it may be bad for some people, it's a safe ingredient for a gluten free diet from the standpoint that it has no gluten.

From Celiac.com:
Monosodium Glutimate (MSG)1, 4
1) If this ingredient is made in North America it is likely to be gluten-free.
4) Can utilize a gluten-containing grain or by-product in the manufacturing process, or as an ingredient.

My Canadian Celiac Association pocket dictionary says:
Monosodium Glutamate (MSG)...allowed.
A flavour enhancer produced through the fementation of molasses from sugar cane or sugar beets. A small percentage of the general population may have a reaction to MSG which is unrelated to gluten.

I certainly agree with the comment that said the chicken broth used may contain gluten, but I'd like added info on the MSG containing gluten. I don't think it does.

Thoughts? Not trying to argue or start a debate...just looking for answers.

To my knowledge, MSG is on the list of foods for celiac patients to avoid. Wheat is such a good source of glutamic acid, as is soy, and corn, that MSG is often made from these foods. And MSG from foreign countries may have gluten in it. Some foods are NOT gluten-free because the MSG they contain has been imported from overseas. If it is an authentic Chinese restaurant, they very well may be using imported seasonings, like MSG. It is similar to trusting that all Thai restaurants use tamari soy sauce which is gluten free as opposed to the more traditional soy sauce (shoyu) found in other Asian cuisines that is made with wheat. I know with me, I would rather be safe than sorry.

Celiac.com Sponsors: