Jump to content

   arrowShare this page:

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Member Since 12 Sep 2006
Offline Last Active Today, 03:19 AM

Posts I've Made

In Topic: Share Your Salsa Recipe!

Yesterday, 04:12 AM

I'm sure everyone knows this already but it's my favourite so I'll post it anyway, 

Tomatoes ( I always use the big ones but it is just personal taste.)

Red onion




Lime Juice


Basically cut up the tomatoes into small pieces and then dice the onion and chop coriander. Mix them in a bowl with the other ingredients and a bit of olive oil. Sometimes I use lemon juice instead of lime or add a bit of crushed garlic. 

No real quantities of each it depends on personal taste, I always add loads of coriander but that might not be to everyones taste. 

Also it can be fairly watery but if you don't use the tomato pulp it is a bit "drier" 

In Topic: Australians And New Zealanders Hellooooooo :)

18 October 2014 - 05:10 AM

I never realised that they were gluten-free by ingredient, I have avoided them for years thinking they have gluten in them. Obviously that is irrelevant now. I think that if a product has been free of an allergen and a company changes the recipe, I think they should have to put at least a new recipe sign on the front of the packet, regardless of it was advertised as free from or not.  I think I posted a while ago about weight watchers adding wheat to one of their frozen meals and me nearly eating it.


 If it is helpful Woolworths used to do a gluten-free cheese tubes, which were like cheezels, I haven't bought them in awhile but I'm failry sure they still do them. Also both Coles and Woolies under their own gluten-free brand have versions of Twisties in chicken and cheese flavour. 


I saw an ad for Natural chip company chips today that says they are gluten free- I think this might be new as I think I have checked packaging before only to find they contained gluten. 


On another note had a frustrating experience with someone recently who suggested we get a bbq chicken for dinner. I politely explained that I can not eat that due to the seasoning/basting. Their reply was "oh it will be fine, we can take the seasoning/basting off for you" Me: Unfortunately all the flavouring goes through, so it doesn't work like that. Them: But surely if you take off the seasoning it is ok? There won't be much gluten left? Me: No . What I really wanted to say was No it is not OK. If it was ok I would have said so, because I would actually really like to have a store bought bbq chicken.


I tried the coles Blueberry rice porridge this morning- I love it. Tomorrow I will try the honey one. I usually hate breakfast and have to force something down but between the porridge, gluten-free weetbix and Genius Pan Aui Chocolates I just might look forward to it, at least on the weekend. 

In Topic: Australians And New Zealanders Hellooooooo :)

17 October 2014 - 04:01 AM

Me again. 

Just thought I'd let everyone know that Coles has expanded their own brand range. They now include wraps- someone bought these for me, I was a bit worried as they have that plastic look, but I found them really soft and tasty if heated slightly. They also didn't fall to bits, although I didn't stuff them. 

I also found rice noodle cups in beef and Mi goreng flavour. I've only tried the Mi goreng ones,  they are bit spicy, the flavouring tastes like the one from the noodles you buy in the Asian section with the red and yellow packaging. The noodles that Coles use are thick brown rice ones. Much nicer that the glass ones in the Fantastic version and they don't clump as much. 

The third thing I found is the most exciting for me. A box of individual packets of flavoured rice porridge! The flavours are vanilla, blueberry, honey. I haven't tried them yet. 


As much as I feel a bit sorry for some of the gluten-free companies that Coles has stopped stocking since bringing out there own range, I have to say that it is fast becoming one of my favourites. I really like the way they have some different things like Banana bread and quinoa cups. Even of the things they have that other companies do like sweet biscuits, I sometimes find I prefer Coles brand. All personal taste of course but makes me a happy little English Marmite. 

In Topic: Australians And New Zealanders Hellooooooo :)

08 October 2014 - 12:24 AM

Thanks Sammykins! 

This makes happy as I found them really tasty. I've tried  and looked at a few other products in the range and noticed they seem to use rice flour  or non wheat/gluten based sauces in alot them (some have wheat, but they are clear). I wish more companies would do this, gives me more options and I'm sure no one will notice a gluten free taste.  I'm going to visit family this weekend and one night we are going to have a roast- they were shocked when I said to them they will need to buy a plain roast as most of the others have wheat in. They had assumed the prepared one would just have some herbs on them . 

Whenever I have bought something with breadcrumbs it is either labeled gluten-free on the front or they note in brackets they have used gluten-free ones, so I just wasn't sure with burgers.


I'm not sure about the cider as I thought all were ok. Tried to google, the sites I saw that had lists of gluten-free ciders or suggested some aren't seemed to be mostly from the US... So I wonder if it is something different in the brewing process there? I really don't know but I just thought it was interesting. 

In Topic: Australians And New Zealanders Hellooooooo :)

05 October 2014 - 05:18 PM

It doesn't say gluten free. I haven't had a reaction but I'm not very sensitive so even if it was wheatcrumbs I might not react from just one. I am hoping you are right about them been made from soy!