Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


irish daveyboy

Member Since 10 Apr 2007
Offline Last Active Dec 02 2014 08:56 PM
-----

Posts I've Made

In Topic: Hotel Waffle Makers With gluten-free Waffle Mix?

09 September 2014 - 03:12 AM

If the hotel use powdered whole egg for scrambled egg  steer clear, the brand 'honeyville' for example have an allergy warning.

 

Ingredients: Pasteurized whole egg with less than 2% sodium silico aluminate added as an anti-caking agent. Certified Kosher with documentation available upon request.

Allergen information: Contains egg. This product is produced on equipment that processes products containing soy, milk, wheat, egg, peanut, and tree nuts.

 

Bacon is naturally gluten free, eggs boiled, fried (clean pan) or poached (fresh water) are OK as is mushrooms or  tomato (cooked in a clean pan) - no sausage or hash browns,

 

Yoghurt fruit flavours (without seeds or grains) are fine.

 

Bring your own favourite gluten free bread and 'tosta bags'

 

Bring your own gluten free cereals in zipper bags.

 

Nuts or dried fruit (check ingredients) for snacking


In Topic: Study Reports Autism Not Tied To Celiac Disease - Counsel & Heal

28 September 2013 - 02:49 AM

http://medicalxpress...ren-autism.html


In Topic: Not Tolerating "low Gluten" Host

28 September 2013 - 12:25 AM

I am Catholic and have been receiving the approved low-gluten hosts and I'm pretty sure that I'm reacting to them. I'm pretty sure that it's not just CC, because I tried an unconsecrated one that had not been handled by anyone and I was in pain for hours after that. It could have been something else, I guess, although it was the same pains that I get when I eat gluten. I know scientists say they are supposed to be below levels that would cause a reaction, so I feel as if I'm being a hypochondriac.

Has anyone actually tried the low-gluten host and reacted?

(Please let's NOT make this a thread about Catholic teaching on Communion. Thank you.)

 

The problem with the Approved low gluten Catholic host is it contains Codex Wheat Starch < 20PPM.

People that react to it may have an additional Wheat allergy.

 

I'm a Celiac with such a wheat allergy and a recovering alcoholic, so partaking of the wine is a no no for me.

The priest just gives me a blessing at communion.