Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Darn210

Member Since 16 Jun 2007
Offline Last Active May 17 2013 03:51 AM
-----

#812593 Some gluten-free Bread May Not Be Gluten Free!

Posted by Darn210 on 21 July 2012 - 05:26 PM

Let's wrap this one up for a while. :)


Okey Dokey.
  • 1


#812592 Some gluten-free Bread May Not Be Gluten Free!

Posted by Darn210 on 21 July 2012 - 05:25 PM

The ingredients do not tell you the product was manufactured in a facility that also manufactures non gluten free products. Read my last post.

Manufactures are not required to list the possibility of cross contamination. If an individual is highly sensitive, they may have to call the manufacturer to determine if there is a cross contamination possibility. Manufacturing processes change on a regular basis. A site that sells products from a variety of manufacturers is not required, nor would they have the resources to constantly check with manufacturers about the potential of cross contamination for each product.

If a person is sensitive to low levels of cc, it is up to that person to investigate and determine whether a product is safe for them. If you want that level of information, you are going to have to do it yourself. . . or . . . don't buy any processed food.

Nobody here is trying to make you eat corn. I don't think any of us are going to convince you that corn is OK and quite frankly, I'm OK with that. The only reason I am still responding in this thread is for any other member who comes along, although why they would want to wade through 5 pages of this, I do not know.
  • 2


#812583 Some gluten-free Bread May Not Be Gluten Free!

Posted by Darn210 on 21 July 2012 - 05:08 PM

Kareng, if a corn product may have gluten grain added to make a finished product that is a bad situation, don't you agree?

If a corn product has anything added to it to make a finished product, it will be listed in the ingredients. Read the ingredient list.
  • 3


#812581 Some gluten-free Bread May Not Be Gluten Free!

Posted by Darn210 on 21 July 2012 - 05:05 PM

Hi Janet, close but not exactly. I am saying that 'the product guy's' research says something different. If his research is garbage, that still leaves the fact that corn is easily contaminated in facilities that manufacturer wheat products. There should be a warning on the celiac site and the mall site about the possibility of cross contamination.


Where did you see that corn is easily contaminted? It's common knowledge that oats are, which is why Celiacs that eat oats should be eating certified gluten-free oats.
  • 1


#812579 Some gluten-free Bread May Not Be Gluten Free!

Posted by Darn210 on 21 July 2012 - 04:58 PM

...you're saying corn by itself is gluten free but can easily be contaminated because it is often manufactured in facilities that also manufacturer wheat products.


That's not what Karen was saying. Karen said:

That isn't what you were saying. That doesn't say corn is bad, it says there might be a wheat, barley or rye added to a corn product, so don't assume. Read ingredients.


Read the ingredients. Just because it's a corn-based product doesn't mean something else hasn't been added to the "recipe". If it has, it will be listed in the ingredients. Read the ingredients.
  • 1


#812570 Some gluten-free Bread May Not Be Gluten Free!

Posted by Darn210 on 21 July 2012 - 04:33 PM

I'm not sure what your definition of controversial is, but I posted several articles from different authors who all used the word 'controversial' in regard to corn and celiac. In addition, the fact that the celiac.com website lists corn as acceptable, and the the authors I posted, as well as some of the people who posted on this forum, have problems with corn.

This is from 2011 from Livestrong. Again, all I'm saying is corn products may be controversial and, as such, it would be nice if these innuendos were mentioned when coming to this site. This site is a resource and should be intuitive, accurate and up-to-date:

Questionable Corn Products

While many corn products are naturally gluten-free, food producers sometimes add gluten from wheat, barley or rye during the manufacturing process. Before purchasing any questionable corn product, read the label carefully or contact the manufacturer directly to ensure it's gluten-free. Avoid ingredients that often contain gluten, such as cereal extract or binding, dextrin, modified food starch and cereal flours.

Read more: http://www.livestron.../#ixzz21J2jFexl

From the exact same article that you are quoting. (The bolding is mine)

The term "gluten" refers to a group of protein particles in grains. In wheat plants, the gluten is known as gliadin, while the gluten in barley is hordein. Rye plants store protein as secalin, oats create a storage protein known as avenin, rice gluten is known as oryzenin and the gluten in corn is called zein. If you have celiac disease, your body can't safely digest gluten from wheat, rye and barley. However, the zein form of gluten in corn is safe for individuals with celiac disease.


I believe that part that you are referring to means that just because a product that by name (for example a corn tortilla) may lead you to believe it is safe because it has corn in its name is not necessarily so. You need to read the ingredient list of a processed food (anything that has more than one ingredient) to determine if anything else has been added. If you are highly sensitive, you may need to contact the manufacturer to investigate manufacturing processes (shared facility/equipment).
  • 3


#812559 Some gluten-free Bread May Not Be Gluten Free!

Posted by Darn210 on 21 July 2012 - 04:03 PM

True, but there's only a handful of known controversial products and that handful should be shoved in our face every chance they get by those calling themselves experts.


How do you decide where to draw that line? How many controversial products (ingredients) are you going to list? The top three? The top ten? Who's going to do the testing to rank them?

The three that everyone (Celiacs/Gluten Sensitives) has to avoid are wheat, rye and barley.
  • 1


#812526 The Gluten Toaster Oven Of Doom

Posted by Darn210 on 21 July 2012 - 01:37 PM

I was actually thinking vacuum cleaner ;)

If you're vacumming crumbs and you've already hosed it out, you might want to use a shop vac.
  • 1


#812525 Some gluten-free Bread May Not Be Gluten Free!

Posted by Darn210 on 21 July 2012 - 01:33 PM

Exactly. This forum, and other similar forums and resources, are here to help people navigate through this situation.

As a fellow sufferer wouldn't it have been helpful when you first started out if you were made aware of some of the innuendos of dealing with celiac? Do you really think the better way is to learn by (painful, damaging) trial and error? Wouldn't you have appreciated being told, on some of these information sites, that some celiacs react to corn or soy or nightshades, etc.


You need to read more posts . . . Anytime there is a member expressing their concern that they are still having problems, the active membership offers their advice on eating cleanly and investigating additional food intolerances (including dairy, soy, nightshades and yes, corn). That is what a forum does . . . it shares personal experiences. One size does not fit all. One disclaimer does not fit all.
  • 2


#810336 Pancakes Falling Apart

Posted by Darn210 on 11 July 2012 - 10:53 AM

Are you an engineer, or just thinking like one???

Yep . . . engineer . . . or at least I was in a former (prekids) life. Now I'm chief of "some assembly required" home projects and the occasional guesser as to what is causing that sound in the car.
  • 1


#810278 Pancakes Falling Apart

Posted by Darn210 on 11 July 2012 - 06:57 AM

I haven't ever used almond flour just by itself so I'm not really sure how it behaves. Like bunnie, I think that looks like plenty of eggs.

I was just wandering if you have ever tried them without adding the berries (putting the berries on top afterward?) . . . just thinking like an engineer here that the berries cause a discontinuity and a place for your pancake to begin to break apart.
  • 1


#809133 Seriously?

Posted by Darn210 on 06 July 2012 - 03:33 PM

I often get some form of "Well, that's a healthy diet to follow." and the smarta$$ in me always responds . . . "yep, cheetos and skittles are gluten free."
  • 1


#808263 Kraft And Cross-Contamination O.0

Posted by Darn210 on 03 July 2012 - 09:44 AM

Most of us avoid products that say at the bottom 'May contain traces of wheat'. Kraft products never have that on them yet this is exactly what that paragraphs basically says.


I just want to mention that the "May contain traces . . . " or "Manufactured in a facility that also produces . . . " is a totally voluntary statement made by the manufacturer and is not required by law. If you want to know if a facility is a dedicated gluten free facility, you'll have to call the manufacturer.
  • 2


#802486 Emotional

Posted by Darn210 on 11 June 2012 - 03:02 AM

Just very new and very scary. I'm going to a support group (I'm embarrassed to say this) on Thursday so I'm hoping that I can get a lot of really good and yummy ideas there...


I don't know why you should be embarrassed. Support groups are a wonderful thing. This board is a support group. It really helps to find out that there is a whole community of people willing to teach you what they know. It really helps emotionally to find out that you are not the only one going through this.

You'll be surprised at how quickly you learn the ropes. You'll be surprised at how quickly you'll be the one answering the questions and providing the support for someone else who just got diagnosed.
  • 1


#796252 The Funny Pages - Tickle Me Elbow - The Original

Posted by Darn210 on 17 May 2012 - 03:43 AM

Hey! My children do that.....



Yup, and so did all the neighborhood kids. B)


which leads us right back to . . .

The easiest creature to train is a human.


  • 1