Jump to content

Follow Us:   Twitter Facebook Celiac.com Forum RSS      



Celiac.com Sponsor:

 
   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts



  arrowShare this page:
   
Celiac.com Sponsor:

cruelshoes

Member Since 28 Jun 2007
Offline Last Active Private
-----

#322694 Annatto Coloring

Posted by on 06 July 2007 - 09:34 AM

Annatto is a gluten-free ingredient.

Wikipedia link

Annatto, sometimes called Roucou, is a derivative of the achiote trees of tropical regions of the Americas, used to produce a red food coloring and also as a flavoring. It scent is described as "slightly peppery with a hint of nutmeg" and flavor as "slightly sweet and peppery"[1].


Some of the older texts/sources do say it is not gluten-free, but this is untrue.
  • 1


Celiac.com Sponsors: