I posted this earlier in an established "what do you eat when you go to PF Changs" topic but I think it needs to be on its own.
I love to eat at PFChangs but I recently became aware that I need to find out if flavored teas are gluten free. PF Changs has maybe 6 hot teas listed on their regular menu, but actually No drinks are listed on the gluten-free menu so the omission didn't necessarily mean that the teas were not gluten-free. Anyway, here is the reply I received from Revolution tea, via PF Changs:
On 2008-08-19 P.F. Chang's China Bistro wrote:
I contact Revolution and here is what they said...
"Additionally, Accuracy of "gluten-free" labels
The "Codex Alimentarius" set of international standards for food labeling has a standard relating to the labeling of products as "gluten free", however this standard does not apply to "foods which in their normal form do not contain gluten".
In the United States, gluten may not be listed on the labels of certain foods because the U.S. Food and Drug Administration has classified gluten as GRAS (Generally recognized as safe). Requirements for proper labeling are being formulated by the USDA. It is currently up to the manufacturers of "gluten free" food items to guarantee such a claim. "A final rule that defines the term gluten-free and identifies the criteria that would enable the food industry to use that term" is scheduled to be released by the FDA on August 2nd, 2008 . Many so-called gluten free products have been found to have been contaminated with gluten (such as [b]Pamela's cookies , etc.).
The actual statement, “Revolution Tea products are ‘gluten free’” would have to come to us directly from NATC along with a product safety guarantee of such a claim."
I wrote back and asked PF Changs to simply ask Revolution tea if any of their teas supplied to PF Changs contain any wheat, rye, oat or barley. Will post response when received.
It has been several weeks and I have not heard back from PF Changs. I thought that they were supposed to be one of the most accomodating chain restaurants for Gluten Free Dining.
So, does anyone have a reliable contact person at PF Changs to contact to ask if their hot teas have gluten ingredients? The hot teas are all flavored. They are as follows: Citrus Spice, White Tangerine, Tropical Green, Organic Green, Sweet Ginger Peach Decaf, and Dragon Eye Oolong.
Or, has anyone every checked out these teas from Revolution Tea to see if they have gluten ingredients?
hippiegirl2001Member Since 26 Aug 2007
Offline Last Active Aug 07 2009 09:26 AM
- Group Advanced Members
- Active Posts 61
- Profile Views 2,778
- Member Title Community Member
- Age 53 years old
- Birthday January 19, 1961
- Website URL http://