Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


tonileet

Member Since 02 Jan 2004
Offline Last Active Aug 04 2004 10:26 AM
-----

Posts I've Made

In Topic: Grainaissance Amazakes And Mochi

24 February 2004 - 04:19 PM

HI,

Well, I haven't researched grain grasses, but.....I've been eating mochi and lovin' it! I miss the doughy texture of wheat products and this stuff hits the spot. Mochi is chewy, quick to bake and fun to eat. It puffs up and out. I like to stuff it with applesauce or tahini. So far I've tried the Original Flavor and Seeds ones. The Cashew Date and Pizza mochis will be next. Stuffing possibilities are endless.

I also drank an "Almond Shake" Amazake yesterday. No problems, so far. It was very cold and very tasty. It probably could be used to make some yummy desserts.

Variety is the spice of life and I'm so happy to add these foods to my safe list!

Give them a try - Toni

In Topic: Mis-labeled Arrow Head Mills Wf Products

24 February 2004 - 04:04 PM

Hi Everyone,

I just called Hain Celestial Group because I'm craving some Imagine Foods Vanilla Non-Dairy Frozen Dessert and wanted to 1) verify that it is still gluten-free and 2) find out if there's any possibility of cross-contamination. After being on hold for a few minutes I spoke to a man named George. When I asked him if the gluten-free listings on their website (dated 7/02) are still current he hesitated and then said "ah........ as far as I know". I got the impression that he didn't really know for sure. He also said that gluten-containing products are made on the same equipment as gluten-free products and that there is a possibility of cross-contamination. I also asked if they clean their equipment and test for gluten and he said yes. It's interesting, debmidge, that you were told that they don't test for gluten. I didn't feel reassured after I hung up.....but that doesn't mean that the Vanilla Non-Dairy Frozen Dessert, that I REALLY want to eat, isn't gluten-free. I've eaten it many times before with no problems. But I'd feel better if George had offered to verify their gluten-free list and get back to me.

kejohe, thanks for suggesting some gluten-free companies. I haven't checked them out because I'm a vegan and most of the products probably contain animal ingredients, but......maybe I'll find a few vegan foods. I'd really like to expand my menu options.

hap2bgf - I agree. A product labeled gluten-free isn't gluten-free if it has been cross-contaminated. UGH! We deserve a guarantee! I did get a chuckle at the thought of products being labeled "Sort of Gluten-Free" or "Possibly Gluten-Free". :D

Happy day, all - Toni

In Topic: Grainaissance Amazakes And Mochi

30 January 2004 - 09:03 AM

Hi Tarnalberry -

I hope you're right! I'll do a search today, if time allows, and post anything I find of interest. If anyone knows a good source of info on grain grasses, please post it.

Thanks much and good day - Toni

In Topic: Muir Glen Tomato Products

27 January 2004 - 08:54 PM

Hi Sarah,

Thanks for the quick response. I'll answer the easier question first. I don't think that the crust or any of the other pizza ingredients were contaminated. I used Sylvan Border Farm (Mendocino Gluten-Free Products, Inc.) Wheat-Free Non-Dairy Bread Mix for the crust. It's a locally owned company and I've spoken to the owner several times. She's a long-time celiac who extensively researches all of her product ingredients. I've used the bread mix quite a few times and do not feel that it is causing any problems. The bread, by the way, is tasty and has good texture, in my opinion.

As for the pizza toppings....besides the Muir Glen tomato paste and diced tomatoes, all I added was onion, green bell pepper, garlic, nutritional yeast, olive oil and fresh basil. It was so yummy! No cheese - dairy or soy.

Can I eat fresh tomatoes with no trouble? I think so, but I'm not sure. I hardly ever eat fresh tomatoes or citrus because I've always wondered if they cause canker sores. Just the thought of eating citrus makes me cringe but I don't feel that strong an aversion to tomatoes. I've been eating Amy's Black Bean Chili every now and then which has tomatoes in it, but no citric acid. Since going gluten-free I've pretty much been avoiding citric acid. I did drink many Tazo teas last summer which have citric acid in them and it didn't bother me. And I eat Cascadian Farm frozen corn on occasion with no problem. But, like tomatoes, I've mostly been staying away from corn. I wonder if multiple mouth ulcers is a symptom of tomato or corn sensitivity?

Do you eat Muir Glen tomato products, Sarah? What other brands have you tried? Do you think you've reacted to all of them? Maybe we'll hear from someone who knows that tomatoes or citric acid is a problem for them.

I am feeling better today, thank you. Take care - Toni

In Topic: Detective Help Needed

19 January 2004 - 08:22 PM

Hi Terri-Anne,

The citric acid in the tomato juice might be the culprit. Better call or e-mail the company to find out before Logan douses his tater again. I also enjoy Muir Glen products and I'm pretty sure that I've seen tomato juice on the shelf.

Good Luck! Let us know what you find out.

Happy day - Toni

P.S. What brand is the questionable tomato juice?