Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


tonileet

Member Since 02 Jan 2004
Offline Last Active Aug 04 2004 10:26 AM
-----

Topics I've Started

Grainaissance Amazakes And Mochi

29 January 2004 - 09:27 PM

Hi,

Grainaissance's web site states that all of their Amazakes (rice beverage) are gluten-free except for Mocha Java. Gimme Green's ingredients list includes wheat grass, oat grass, barley grass and kamut grass. I e-mailed the company and asked if Gimme Green really is gluten-free and the woman who responded said "The grasses do not contain gluten as they come from a different part of the plant." Does anyone know if this is a true statement? I'm feeling quite ignorant. She also said that "The Amazake flavors are all made on the same equipment but it is all cleaned between each flavor that's processed." I had asked about testing for gluten but she didn't address that issue.

I like Amazakes but what I'm really wanting to eat is their Mochi. I bought a package of Cashew Date Mochi (contains cinnamon and natural vanilla flavor) and Pizza Mochi (contains herbs, spices and paprika) but am hesitant to eat them because maybe those ingredients contain gluten and the company doesn't realize it. I tried to call Grainaissance today but their customer service rep wasn't available. I'll try again tomorrow but, in the meantime.....does anyone regularly enjoy these mochis (or Gimme Green Amazake) with no reactions? The e-mail I received also said "The Mochi is made in the same processing room but on completely different equipment on the other side of the room. All the Mochi flavors are gluten-free."

Perhaps I'm just being too paranoid. <_<
I long for no symptoms...at least for a few weeks in a row! :D
I'll get there eventually. I wish that for all of us.
Take care - Toni

Muir Glen Tomato Products

27 January 2004 - 03:50 PM

Hello Everyone,

I'm wondering if anyone thinks they've reacted to any of Muir Glen's canned tomato products. I've made gluten-free pizza twice recently (I used Muir Glen tomato paste and plain diced tomatoes and had confirmed beforehand that the citric acid in their products is corn-based) and both times, within a day or two, my scalp itchies have flared and mouth ulcers have erupted.

The major reactions I've experienced since going gluten-free (to the best of my knowlege) 6 1/2 months ago have been after eating food that I've REALLY enjoyed and when I've been feeling particularly well. (I'm the one who broke out in mouth ulcers after eating artichoke hearts imported from Spain - gluten in the citric acid.) I know this sounds super paranoid, but I'm beginning to feel like whatever I eat when I'm feeling great and that tastes extra-good will make me sick! Sometimes I hate all of the investigative work I have to do just to eat (but I'm glad that I'm creating a list of safe products).

Anyway, I e-mailed Muir Glen and this is how they responded:

"Although we at Small Planet Foods manage production carefully, including thorough cleanout practices, Muir Glen products MAY be produced on equipment that also handles gluten-containing products. You will need to make a decision about whether to use this product based on your sensitivity."

They capitalized MAY, not me. No mention of whether or not they test for gluten, even though I asked. I'm bummed out about not trusting their products. Anyone know a brand of organic canned tomato products that are made in a gluten-free facility or on a dedicated line?

Thanks for reading. This latest outbreak of scalp itchies and mouth ulcers has me feeling quite pissy and frustrated. I'm glad that I can vent with people who understand.

I hope all of you are having a great day! Take care - Toni