I emailed the company to see if they would like to set the record straight. I have heard they don't use the barley anymore. Stephanie's link is the first current " real" info I have seen. The rest are rumors or people's experiences which may be gluten or may be something else.
I agree with a1956chill, if it bothers you, don't use it.
So, another year has gone by... did you ever get a response?
I'd be interested in knowing whether they're continuing this practice of including a barley-derived ingredient in their products which are labeled "gluten free."
Even though the resulting product has a low level of gluten that most people probably won't notice a reaction to, I still feel that it's dishonest marketing not to fully disclose the ingredients on the label so people can make an informed choice.