Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Leonesse

Member Since 25 Nov 2008
Offline Last Active Aug 24 2011 05:41 PM
-----

Posts I've Made

In Topic: Jack In The Box

24 August 2011 - 05:14 PM

August 24, 2011

On their site, Jack in the Box lists their ingredients (as of Aug 24, 2011), which is marginally helpful as long as you know the chemical forms of hidden gluten. Note, however, the company does not say which ingredients might have come down gluten-contaminated production lines at their source. Cross-contamination in the restaurant could also be a big concern, as the teenagers are probably flopping the food around without the least thought of a crumb being dangerous.

http://www.jackinthe...ingredients.pdf

In Topic: Ghirardelli Chocolate

24 June 2011 - 11:46 AM

It would be so helpful if we each CAPITALIZED or ENLARGED THE DATE OF OUR POSTS, as the posts from several years ago are often inaccurate today. Unless a post is very recent, we just cannot assume it is true anymore. In fact, when I contact companies, I often learn old posts are not accurate.

JUNE 24, 2011

I received this response today from Ghirardelli, which I had read was a safe chocolate, was eating it (and as a result getting horrible confusion and poor memory, which is my primary reaction: 9 days of profound stupidity, missing appointments, etc.).

The Ghirardelli company wrote:

Thank you for contacting Ghirardelli Chocolate. Ghirardelli currently offers one product which contains an gluten ingredient. Our Luxe Milk Crisp Squares and Bars, containing barley malt as an ingredient. As a result, the line on which our chocolate bars and Squares are produced, share a common line with barley gluten.

The chocolate chips (60% Bittersweet, Semi-Sweet, and Milk Chocolate) line and powder line (hot chocolates and baking cocoas) will remain free of gluten ingredients.

Ghirardelli takes the following measures to reduce cross contamination on our production lines: lines are cleaned between the changing from one product to the next. The first two batches of any product made are disposed of and not packaged.

Sincerely,
Consumer Service

Ghirardelli Chocolate Company
1111-139th Avenue
San Leandro 94578-2631
+1 510 483 69 70
http://www.ghirardelli.com

In Topic: Tuna Fish

10 June 2011 - 01:44 PM

As of 6/10/2011, the Bumble Bee products are suspect until further notice. I just visited the company web site and on their FAQ page the question of gluten is addressed like this: "Most of our products are gluten free." But I can't find out which ones are safe to eat unless I write to them, because their contact info doesn't even include a phone number. There was a mention of wheat being listed, but then they put "(gluten)" after the word as if gluten only occurs in wheat, so I don't know if they even understand gluten.

I was about to eat some of their premium light tuna in a pouch, which lists vegetable broth on the ingredient list, but I have read sometimes vegie broth includes gluten (ACK!!) or MSG (can you spell "headache?"). This is pretty inconvenient, I'm just returning it to the store and eating another brand willing to take our concerns more seriously.

In Topic: List Of Companies That Always Disclose Ingredients

18 January 2011 - 06:40 PM

McCormick spices/extracts company does NOT guarantee to identify gluten, as of January 18, 2011 per their web site. The first two sentences make no sense after you read the last two sentences.

Quote: None of our single ingredient spices and herbs contain gluten. In addition, all of our extracts, including Pure Vanilla, are gluten-free. Some of our products do contain gluten. When WHEAT is the source, it will always be called out within the ingredient statement, and listed in bold.
We do not maintain a list of gluten-free products, as our formulas change from time to time.

In Topic: Strattera

23 November 2010 - 12:10 AM

This list was last updated 9/14/2010:

http://www.glutenfre...gs.com/list.pdf


Strattera is listed as gluten free on that site. I don't know who puts out the list or how reliable it is. If anyone knows that, I'd like to find out.


Thanks,
Leslie