I just called Kraft to ask what was in their "modified food starch," specifically for Miracle Whip. According to them, it contains corn, potato or tapioca, but not wheat or gluten. They also said that if any of their products contain gluten, they will list it in parentheses on the label; for example: modified food starch (rye). According to them, if any of the ingredients do NOT show gluten on the label, then it does not contain gluten, because they list any ingredients that are known to cause intolerances or allergies including soy, nuts, eggs, etc. They said that if they use anything with gluten, it is listed on the label. BUT, the product may not meet the FDA's requirements of "gluten free" to put "gluten free" on the label. I guess it's a product by product thing with Kraft.
I also called Quaker to find out if their rice cakes contained gluten specifically in the ingredients of "caramel coloring," "maltodextrin," and "natural flavoring." They were unable to tell me WHAT these ingredients contained, gluten or otherwise. I have problems with a company who can't tell me what is in their ingredient list. They did say, though, that none of the rice cakes would meet the requirements for a "gluten free" diet, so I think I have to assume the rice cakes contain gluten.
If anyone has experience, or reactions, to any of these products, please post...to save me a reaction.
YoudahMember Since 29 Mar 2009
Offline Last Active May 29 2009 10:44 AM
- Group Advanced Members
- Active Posts 18
- Profile Views 1,154
- Member Title New Community Member
- Age Age Unknown
- Birthday Birthday Unknown