Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


BigDogz

Member Since 18 Apr 2009
Offline Last Active Nov 16 2010 06:21 AM
-----

Topics I've Started

Breyer's Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

08 November 2010 - 05:10 PM

I've read and re-read and re-read the ingredients in Breyer's Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream and, for the life of me, I can't find any ingredients listed there that should be causing me to react to it. Somehow, though, my body doesn't seem to agree with that theory. Every single time I try eating it, I end up with terrible cramps, gas and diarrhea identical to the symptoms I have when I ingest gluten.

After reading the ingredient list yet again, I thought maybe I was just having problems with the dairy aspect of it...as many Celiacs do. I begrudgingly eliminated my favorite dessert from my diet but I just couldn't resist the temptation to try again. This time I bought a different brand (Ben & Jerry's) and a different flavor (Chunky Monkey). To my complete surprise I was able to enjoy the ice cream and it didn't come back to haunt me later!!

Since both ice creams have identical dairy ingredients, I don't understand why I'm reacting to the Breyer's Mint Chocolate Chip and not to the Ben & Jerry's Chunky Monkey. Does anyone else have problems reacting to the Breyer's MCC? What could I possibly be reacting to since there appears to be nothing gluten-related in the ingredient list?

What's The Scoop On Maltodextrin?

09 May 2010 - 01:41 PM

When I was learning about the gluten-free diet, I was instructed to avoid foods that contain maltodextrin unless its origin was specifically listed as a gluten-free origin, such as 'corn maltodextrin'.

I recently read an article in a magazine that's dedicated to living with celiac disease. That article asserts that there's absolutely no reason for Celiacs to avoid maltodextrin, even if it originates from gliadin-containing grains. They claim that maltodextrin is processed to such a degree that no gliadin remains...or that if some does, it's such an infinitesimally small amount that it can't cause reactions.

Does anyone know what the "official" ruling is on the safety of maltodextrin for Celiacs?

Trip To Wegman's

17 March 2010 - 07:37 AM

I finally decided to break down and make the 120 mile round-trip trek to my nearest Wegman's tomorrow. My aim is that I'm not going for gluten-free things that I can get at my local Wal-Mart like meats, cheeses, eggs, milk, etc.

I want to get products that aren't available locally like gluten-free pizzas, breads, rolls, cookies, snacks, frozen entrees, crackers, soups, etc. Problem is, Wegman's carries multiple gluten-free brands of these items and if I'm going to go that far and spend that much time & gas, I want to make the trip count by getting the best tasting products.

I'd really appreciate it if anyone that shops at Wegman's could suggest specific items and brands that I should seek out. For example, which is the better gluten-free bread...Ener-G Tapioca Loaf, Brown Rice Loaf, White Rice Loaf or Glutino's Harvest Corn, Flax Seed, or Premium Fiber? Are Glutino crackers better than Blue Diamond Nut-thin crackers?

Also, are there any gluten-free items that are made fresh at Wegman's that anyone would recommend?

Thanks, in advance, for any suggestions y'all can make!

Need Help From Pa & Surrounding States

19 February 2010 - 11:21 AM

Hey, guys...

One of the best places I've found in my area to get gluten-free flours and mixes is a small, independent, Amish-owned bulk foods store. They have been more than accommodating in stocking products as well as very open to bringing in new gluten-free products.

As I was browsing through the store today, I passed by the meat section and my eye was caught by some Jalapeno & Cheese hot dogs produced by John F. Martin & Sons, Inc. - an Amish company based in Stevens, PA. They looked...and sounded...really good but when I read the ingredient list I was too afraid to try them. It all sounded ok until I got to that horribly ambiguous phrase "Natural flavorings".

Since some Amish business in my area have websites, I took a chance that Martin's might, too. They don't. I tried a quick board search here to see if I could find anything anyone posted and came up empty. I do have a phone number for Martin's but I thought I'd toss out in inquiry here before making a long distance phone call.

Anyone out there know what, if any, of John F. Martin & Sons products are gluten-free?

How Should I Handle This In The Future?

05 February 2010 - 05:42 PM

A bunch of my friends celebrated another friend's graduation from nursing school last night by going to a local pub. Although they all know I have celiac disease and can't drink most alcoholic beverages, I knew I'd be "expected" to join in. I considered having plain soda but I don't tolerate caffeine well (I get symptoms very similar to celiac disease). In the past, I've tried drinking something caffeine free like 7-Up or Sprite or Crush, but every single time I do it I end up with a yeast infection in a matter of a day or two. Right or wrong, I've chalked it up to the high fructose corn syrup and just avoid drinking soda.

That left my choices as water or fruit juice (not likely in a bar), wine coolers or something with gin or vodka in it. I've never been a "drinker" so I know very little about alcoholic beverages, what they're made of, the various names of mixed drinks, etc. One of the friends was buying the first round for everyone and I thought I'd be safe ordering a raspberry wine cooler.

I now know that I made two initial mistakes. One, I didn't go and get my own drink so that I could personally talk with the bartender and assure what I was getting...but I didn't want to offend my friend by not accepting her offer to pay or appear that I didn't trust her or was overly picky. Two, the pub was very dark and I didn't look at the label until I was down to my last half-dozen swallows. I took the first sip, it tasted raspberry-y, like a wine cooler, and that's all the "checking" I did...until I got shoved beneath the beam of a stage light and it glinted off the label. The label that clearly said "Bacardi Raz" and, in the small print at the bottom, "Malt beverage". Needless to say, today hasn't been a pretty day for me.

I now know not to make those 2 mistakes I made. BUT...how could I handle this differently in the future? I assumed since I said "wine cooler", that's what I was going to get - not something malted. Secondly, the bottle was brought to the table with the cap already off, so even if I'd noticed the label beforehand, how could I have "turned it back in"?

Lastly, being alcoholic beverage illiterate...and an incredible lightweight with booze...what drinks do you guys order when out on the town with friends? On the few occasions that I would drink before my diagnosis, I'd order an Amaretto & 7-Up (yes, it's a poufy drink - told you I was a lightweight :rolleyes: ). If I'm willing to chance the HFCS in the 7-Up, is the Amaretto "safe"?