Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


FMcGee

Member Since 09 May 2009
Offline Last Active Jun 14 2010 04:12 AM
-----

Topics I've Started

Help Needed Quickly!

15 December 2009 - 01:32 PM

Hi, all! I'm baking under time constraints, and the recipe I'm making calls for tapioca starch, which I thought I had. Wrong was I, though: I have tapioca FLOUR and POTATO starch. Which would be a better substitution? Thanks!!

Yoplait Fiber One Yogurt

14 December 2009 - 01:45 PM

Y'all might have known this already, but I contacted General Mills about the Yoplait Fiber One Yogurt, and got this response, which is pretty courteous!:

Thank you for contacting us about gluten in Yoplait Fiber One yogurt.

General Mills offers several products that are labeled gluten-free. Please check the package label for the gluten-free statement on the front/side/back of the package. Only products that can be verified to be gluten free will be declared as gluten free on the label. It is important to check the product label each time you purchase a product because it has the most accurate information about the product in the package.

Because we constantly strive to improve our products′ quality and nutritional value, the most up-to-date product information is on the package the product is purchased in. For that reason, we do not distribute product information lists as they could quickly become outdated.

For products not labeled gluten free, we will always declare gluten containing ingredients if they are added to the product. If the ingredient declaration lists wheat, oats, barley, rye, or derivatives of these grains, then the product contains gluten. Examples of derivative ingredients include: malt, barley malt, organic malt, semolina, Durham, triticale, and spelt. We do not include gluten containing ingredients in the ′Natural Flavors′ or ′Spices′ on the product ingredient list. If there are gluten ingredients in our products, those ingredients are always clearly listed.

If there are no gluten- containing ingredients listed in the product ingredient label, but the product does not make a gluten free claim, it is because we cannot fully assure that this product is gluten free. While we have not added gluten-containing ingredients, factors such as sourcing, conditions of manufacture, etc. do not allow us to provide the full level of assurance that a gluten free claim requires.

Additional information regarding gluten may be obtained by contacting your health care professional or:

Celiac Sprue Association/United States of America, Inc.
PO Box 31700
Omaha, NE 68131-0700
402-558-0600
Or toll free: 877-CSA-4-CSA (877-272-4272)
www.csaceliacs.org

We hope this information is helpful.

Sincerely,

Gwyn Walters

Consumer Services

Publix Squash Displays

20 September 2009 - 10:14 AM

Hi, everyone! Just in case anyone is headed to the Gainesville Publix on Archer, know that they've got sheaves of wheat decorating their squash displays. I spoke to the grocery manager about it, and he didn't change it, but saw my point. He said I could come in tomorrow to get some that hadn't been displayed with wheat sitting right on top of it.

Sigh. The squash was on sale, too.

St. Pete?

16 July 2009 - 05:26 PM

I'm going on a last-minute trip to St. Petersburg, FL on Saturday and will be there for four days. Anyone have a particular favorite restaurant that does well with gluten-free?