Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


haans42

Member Since 01 Dec 2004
Offline Last Active Dec 08 2004 04:42 AM
-----

Posts I've Made

In Topic: Heritage

03 December 2004 - 09:28 AM

Hi,

Prussian, (Eastern Germany before Poland was created after WWI) Austrian, and Azerbijani.

As I understand it celiac is more common among people from central Europe.

Haans

In Topic: How Long Before You Figured It Out?

03 December 2004 - 09:14 AM

Hi,

Wow, I think it takes years to get this completely figured out. There is gluten in lots of foods you would not expect. Some medicines and vitamins use starch as a binder, this starch may or may not be gluten-free. Carmel color may be made from wheat, the list goes on and on. Cereal with malt flavoring is not gluten-free. Many soy sauces are made with wheat. Basically if it is a processed food and is not labeled as gluten-free read the ingredients very very carefully.

Haans