Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            

   arrowShare this page:

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Member Since 28 Dec 2004
Offline Last Active Private

Posts I've Made

In Topic: No Printed gluten-free Menu At Red Robin

22 February 2015 - 07:37 PM

I was intrigued by this, so I went to the web site. I said I was in upstate New York, and chose the Henrietta location, then launched the allergen menu. Wow--not just a gluten-free menu, a customized menu covering multiple needs. I checked gluten and shellfish, and was shown what was okay for me to eat, with notes about what to leave out (if applicable). For those of us who need to dodge soy and/or dairy, both of those were available as allergens to avoid. I don't know why anybody would be unhappy about this--it is beyond my hopes and certainly better than a printed gluten-free menu that only addresses gluten. Your mileage may vary.

In Topic: Afraid Of Colonoscopy/endoscopy

18 February 2015 - 01:41 PM

As others have said, the worst part is the prep.

In Topic: Gluten Free Labels

18 February 2015 - 01:37 PM

You were asking about Canada.


Here is the applicable Canadian regulation. It applies to all food sold in Canada, regardless of where it comes from.
Food and Drug Regulation B.24.018
It is prohibited to label, package, sell or advertise a food in a manner likely to create an impression that it is a gluten-free food if the food contains any gluten protein or modified gluten protein, including any gluten protein fraction, referred to in the definition "gluten" in subsection B.01.010.1(1).
Subsection B.01.010.1(1) reads:
(a) any gluten protein from the grain of any of the following cereals or the grain of a hybridized strain created from at least one of the following cereals:
(i) barley,
(ii) oats,
(iii) rye,
(iv) triticale, or
(v) wheat, kamut or spelt; or
(b) any modified gluten protein, including any gluten protein fraction, that is derived from the grain of any of the cereals referred to in subparagraphs (a)(i) to (v) or the grain of a hybridized strain referred to in paragraph (a). (gluten)
In Canada, the gluten grains are "priority allergens" and must be clearly disclosed on the label of a food containng them.
Note that testing is not required by the government.
"Certified" means an independent party has and continues to test to verify compliance. Certification in Canada is usually by the Canadian Celiac Association.

In Topic: Why I Don't Trust Pizza Hut

11 February 2015 - 09:49 PM

I have eaten happily at Outback more times than I can count. I have had the gluten-free pizza from Pizza Pizza here in Ontario. I have not yet had the opportunity to try the offering from Pizza Hut, but when I can, I will. I also eat gluten-free at The Keg Steakhouse and at Il Fornello. Yes, there can be mistakes at the delivery point, but I just won't spend my life worrying about it.

In Topic: Chance Of Gluten In Meds Very Low

05 February 2015 - 06:28 PM

That's odd because my personal pharmacist has a binder filled with medications that have gluten. She has called manufactures and, being a professional, been able to determine that many generics are made with cheaper binders, fillers, flavorings and coloring's that are not even determined to be gluten free or not.

Perhaps you could talk to your pharmacist and then share with us some of these meds that contain gluten. In almost fifteen years I have yet to find one myself. Keep in mind that "not gluten free" is a legal disclaimer and does not mean "contains gluten." But you said, "medications that have gluten," so please provide a few examples. It should be easy, after all, she "has a binder filled with medications that have gluten."