Jump to content

Follow Us:   Twitter Facebook Celiac.com Forum RSS      

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts
arrowShare this page:
Subscribe Today!

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:


Member Since 28 Dec 2004
Offline Last Active Private

#680388 What Is The Gluten-Free Standard?

Posted by on 04 March 2011 - 03:32 PM

At the moment, in the US, there is no legal definition of "gluten-free."

Click here to go to a discussion a few months ago.
  • 1

#678656 A Few Dumb Questions

Posted by on 26 February 2011 - 10:57 AM

If I recall correctly, Heinz regular ketchup is gluten-free. I don't use ketchup myself, though.

Try these links for useful information:

Unsafe ingredients.

Safe ingredients.

Here's a list of companies that have a clear gluten policy. If you don't see "wheat, rye, barley, barley malt, oats" on the labels, its not there, or hidden in "flavors, starches, etc."

I am not a supporter of lists--they are out of date the minute that you print them. Formulas are constantly changing. That is why I like to buy from companies who will label clearly (see the third link above). Always read the label.
  • 2

#677603 Tricked Into The Blood Test And I Need Resources!

Posted by on 22 February 2011 - 09:35 PM

If you have been on the gluten-free diet for a year, any medical tests will come back negative. They measure the reaction to gluten. No gluten--no reaction. Your doctor, and your husband, don't seem to grasp this. Perhaps you should find a new doctor...
  • 4

#677428 How Many People Are Actually Self-diagnosed?

Posted by on 22 February 2011 - 09:22 AM

It would seem appropriate to remind everyone of board rule #1:

Do not be abusive or otherwise out of line towards other board members. Show respect for each board member, no matter what you think of their views. This is not a place to quarrel.
  • 3

#676741 Info Privacy

Posted by on 19 February 2011 - 06:27 PM

The private information in your profile can not be seen by members or forum moderators. If you posted your date of birth it will be visible, but everything else is protected.
  • 1

#674623 How Do You Know If Someone Is "super Sensitive"?

Posted by on 11 February 2011 - 09:08 PM

Hey, did anyone notice they made a new sub-forum for super sensitive psillys here? :D

It is new and was created on Wednesday. :)
  • 1

#674137 Canola Oil An Issue?

Posted by on 10 February 2011 - 06:08 AM

No worries here either.
  • 1

#674037 Reliability Of Manufacturer Lists?

Posted by on 09 February 2011 - 05:42 PM

My rule is: when the web site ingredients differ from the ones on the product you actually have, believe the product label. Ingredients change, and sometimes the web site is slow to be updated. Also, the web site may describe today's plant output while the product you have was made weeks or months ago.
  • 2

#673558 "gluten Free Pebbles" I Think Not!

Posted by on 07 February 2011 - 06:01 PM

Further, US manufacturers are only required to label the top 8 allergens at this time and barley and rye are not in the top 8.

There are a number of companies that will always clearly disclose any gluten source in the foods they make. If you don't see "wheat, rye, barley, barley malt, oats" on the labels, its not there, or hidden in "flavors, starches, etc." http://www.glutenfre...lists/index.htm This makes shopping MUCH easier.

Rye is almost never found in ordinary food. It only turns up in things like rye bread (and variants thereof such as pumpernickel).

Barley is the concern. If the manufacturer is not one of the ones in the link above, then there is a chance that barley is hiding in natural flavors. It is a small chance, since barley malt is expensive and so is usually identified (watch for it in chocolate).
  • 1

#673196 I Cant Let It Go

Posted by on 05 February 2011 - 03:01 PM

Jason, I have been on the board over six years now, the majority of that time as a moderator.

There have been very, very few instances in that time where a member was advised to get counselling. I would venture to say that I could count those members on the fingers of one hand.

I don't know if you read any topics you did not start. I can, however, say that I do not recall ever seeing you post in a topic you did not start. So, when you say you come here to "share" I find that not to be descriptive. Most of us here share by trying to help others. You only seem to be interesting in taking--never giving.

You come here over and over with the same questions and, not surprisingly, keep getting the same answers from many different people. Maybe it is time for you to reconsider whether everyone but you is wrong about your issues. It does not seem to be a productive use of the members' time to keep offering ideas which you clearly do not want to listen to.
  • 6

#670065 Gluten Free Cats?

Posted by on 23 January 2011 - 01:35 PM

Our cats don't get supplements and are not fed raw meat. None of them are blind, so they must be getting sufficient taaurine from their food, none of which is raw. One of them eats only canned food, and everything in the can is cooked to at least some degree.
  • 1

#669556 Gluten Free Cats?

Posted by on 21 January 2011 - 11:48 AM

Here is a partial list of grain-free cat foods. They are in no particular order.

Entire branded line grain-free:
Nature's Variety Instinct
Now! Grain Free
Taste of the Wild
Merrick BG
Wellness CORE
Wholesome Blend

Selected formulas grain-free:
Wellness canned
Go! Natural
Natural Balance
  • 1

#669185 Is MSG Safe?

Posted by on 20 January 2011 - 05:59 AM

MSG is gluten-free. Whether it is "safe" is a subject of much controversy, which I won't get into here. But it is definitely gluten-free.

Be careful with Chinese food. Most soy sauce contains wheat and thus has gluten.
  • 1

#668872 List Of Companies That Always Disclose Ingredients

Posted by on 18 January 2011 - 08:02 PM

McCormick spices/extracts company does NOT guarantee to identify gluten, as of January 18, 2011 per their web site. The first two sentences make no sense after you read the last two sentences.

Actually, they do make sense. Read on.

None of our single ingredient spices and herbs contain gluten. In addition, all of our extracts, including Pure Vanilla, are gluten-free

All of the single ingredient products contain only the single ingredient named. Who knew? The extracts are also stated to be gluten-free.

Some of our products do contain gluten. When WHEAT is the source, it will always be called out within the ingredient statement, and listed in bold.
We do not maintain a list of gluten-free products, as our formulas change from time to time.

So, when wheat is present, it will be disclosed. This is not news--it is required in Canada and the United States. They don't have a gluten-free list--good for them. Ingredients change and there is no assurance that the product you have is in sync with the timing of the list. READ THE INGEDIENTS on the label. See if you can find any hidden gluten. Wheat must be disclosed. Barley could possibly be hiding in a seasoning mix as "natural flavour" but is more likely to be disclosed as malt.
  • 1

#668704 Can Someone Explain The Difference Between Sugars To Me?

Posted by on 18 January 2011 - 10:40 AM

Sugars are simple carbohydrates that occur naturally and can be obtained from a variety of sources. The names end in ose. Common table sugar is sucrose.

Other common sugars include glucose, dextrose, lactose, maltose, fructose. All are gluten-free.

Some people, including some people with celiac disease, are intolerant to lactose and/or fructose. Lactose intolerance is associated with celiac disease, because the enzyme needed to digest it--lactase--is produced in the villi.
  • 1

Celiac.com Sponsors: