Jump to content

Follow Us:   Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            



Celiac.com Sponsor:

 
   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts



  arrowShare this page:
   
Celiac.com Sponsor:

psawyer

Member Since 28 Dec 2004
Offline Last Active Private
*****

#665853 Biopsy Necessity

Posted by on 06 January 2011 - 12:31 PM

Is gluten something a baker/manufacturer adds to the ingredients to produce an item that has a general appeal to the masses; making the product all fluffy and air-filled, while simultaneously lengthening shelf life? Let the shelves have it, then. To me that's a big red flag. It isn't natural.

"Gluten" refers to the prolamine protein found in wheat, rye and barley. It is a natural part of the plants.

The protein in oats is similar, and considered gluten by some. Even if you tolerate pure oats, commercial oats in North America are invariably contaminated with wheat and thus not gluten-free.
  • 1


#665725 How Long Undetected?

Posted by on 05 January 2011 - 07:15 PM

006, your example of the former smoker who developed lung cancer is a worst-case scenario. Yes, that can happen. You can drive carefully and still be injured or killed in a collision. The risk of smoking-related disease decreases dramatically when you quit and stay that way for a few years. It does not go to zero. I am a former smoker who quit almost 21 years ago. My risk for smoking-related disease today is almost the same as that of someone who never smoked.

Every day that you remain gluten-free reduces your risk of celiac disease-related collateral damage. Focus on the positive effect of being gluten-free. You cannot change the past.
  • 1


#665637 Biopsy Necessity

Posted by on 05 January 2011 - 03:15 PM

In the vast majority of cases, the villi heal completely on a strict gluten-free diet. The time to heal varies significantly, from a few months to as much as two years.

I had severe damage when originally tested by biopsy in 2000. The process was repeated in 2005, and my villi were normal.

Yes, there will be trace amounts from time to time due to cross contamination. CC can happen anywhere along the production process for a product, and a "gluten-free" final processing plant is no guarantee. The body is constantly regenerating, and the key to managing celiac disease is to keep as close to 100% gluten-free as possible. That way the healing happens faster than any damage.

Genetic testing is of little value, in my opinion. Many have the identified genes and never develop the disease. Some have the disease but not the classic genes.
  • 1


#665155 The Funny Pages - Tickle Me Elbow - The Original

Posted by on 03 January 2011 - 06:21 PM

Pheline phurry phun here tonight. Becky, who lives at the store, is visiting us at home overnight. She is going to see the vet in the morning. We tried letting her run loose, but the three resident phelines all got their backs up. We didn't want to confine her cuz she claws at the carpet under the door trying to get loose.

Current status: She is locked in the master bedroom, and we have a shock mat deployed beside the door. She touched it once. We think she got the message.

She had been on a weight-loss diet for about a year, but in the summer we had her teeth cleaned of tartar. Since then she has been increasingly demanding of food. In the last few weeks she has ripped open six bags of food in the store. She has put some weight back on, and is limping again.

Obviously, this can not continue. We are trying to find a solution which keeps the weight off her without destroying store inventory. She is at risk for pheline diabetes, and there is no way we can keep her in the store while adhering to the needed insulin injection schedule. If she develops diabetes, she will have to come home (the trial tonight was not successful), or find another home. We do have an option available there.
  • 1


#665052 Shopping Questions From A Newbie

Posted by on 03 January 2011 - 12:06 PM

Many mainstream foods are suitable for the vast majority of us. After a while, you will be able to read labels and know quickly.

Try these links for useful information:

Unsafe ingredients.

Safe ingredients.


Here's a list of companies that have a clear gluten policy. If you don't see "wheat, rye, barley, barley malt, oats" on the labels, its not there, or hidden in "flavors, starches, etc." These companies make shopping easy. Just read the ingredients and if there is gluten it will be clearly disclosed.
  • 2


#664877 "Trusted" Companies

Posted by on 02 January 2011 - 05:55 PM

Here is a post with some useful links, including the one you are looking for.

Unsafe ingredients: http://www.celiac.co...ents/Page1.html

Safe ingredients: http://www.celiac.co...ents/Page1.html

A list of companies that has a clear gluten policy. If you don't see "wheat, rye, barley, barley malt, oats" on the labels, its not there, or hidden in "flavors, starches, etc." http://www.glutenfre...lists/index.htm This makes shopping MUCH easier.

FDA foods are required to list wheat - it cannot be hidden.

Rule #1: Never eat anything without reading the label first.

Rule #2: Consistently check labels, even of your favorite products, as product formulations can change.

Rule #3: If you are unsure of an ingredient, or the company's policy on labeling, call the phone number on the back of the product or email the company.

Hope this helps.


Ingredients change all the time, so lists of products become outdated very quickly. These lists remain valid over time. In my ten years at this, no company has backed away from their gluten labeling policy. Hershey has become somewhat evasive, and some don't trust them anymore.
  • 1


#664276 Dates: Do They Make You Sick?

Posted by on 30 December 2010 - 07:53 PM

Interesting video. It does not show how they actually pollinate the trees. Date palms are from 15 m (50 ft) to 25 m (80 ft) tall. Do they climb them? Do they use honey bees as agents?

In any case, the growing season from pollination to harvesting fruit is long. During that time wind and rain will act on the flower and the growing fruit.

I don't eat dates because, as a diabetic, they are much to sweet for me. But I do wonder how much of an issue this really is.
  • 1


#663936 Death By Frying Pan

Posted by on 29 December 2010 - 06:42 PM

We need a dancing emoticon.

Will this do?

Posted Image

There are lots more where that came from.
  • 1


#663090 Enterolab Testing & Validity?

Posted by on 25 December 2010 - 07:33 PM

Didnt someone post that it was irresponsible to just start the diet without clinical indication? Isnt clinical indication needed sometimes?

I have been an active participant on this board for six years. I may not have managed to read every post, but I certainly do not recall seeing any post to that effect. To try a dietary change of any type, be it gluten-free, low carb, vegetarian, or whatever, is hardly what I would call irresponsible.
  • 1


#662786 Family Gatherings

Posted by on 23 December 2010 - 08:12 PM

It can be difficult, but you must be firm. I come from a family of three brothers. I am the eldest. My brothers both understand and I trust the youngest one to prepare safe food for me on the occasions when we visit them. The middle brother and his wife don't cook. When they host a family gathering (as will happen Sunday), we go to a restaurant near their home that I trust. When we are the host, everything is gluten-free and nobody has ever made a negative comment.

My father grasps the idea, but forgets, and will offer the garlic gluten toast to me when we are at the restaurant. I say "no, thanks" and then he remembers, and apologizes. He's 86. If I get to 86, I will forget some things too.
  • 1


#661830 Soy; Bad Or Ok?

Posted by on 20 December 2010 - 10:26 AM

Soy is gluten-free, but some people, including some celiacs, are unable to eat it. It is one of the FDA's top eight allergens, so it must be clearly disclosed on labels in the USA.
  • 1


#661209 Trying To Get My Mom To Go Gluten Free

Posted by on 17 December 2010 - 08:36 AM

She is wrong about the cecum--it plays no part in celiac disease that I have ever heard of. The immune system reacts to gluten and produces antibodies which attack the small intestine.

From what you describe, your mother's small intestine is all there. Damage to the villi can not be detected by colonoscopy, although it is often wise to do one in case there are other issues in addition to celiac disease. An endoscopy of the small intestine is used to diagnose celiac disease. Blood tests are also available. Some doctors wil diagnose celiac disease based on the blood work alone.

Edit: If your mother has already had two colonoscopies in six months, there is no benefit to another.
  • 1


#661121 Grrrrrrrr . . .

Posted by on 16 December 2010 - 07:31 PM

Betty Crocker promised a GLUTEN-FREE mix. They delivered a GLUTEN-FREE mix. They have changed the ingredients in their still-GLUTEN-FREE mix.

I realize that some of us have other issues. Those who do must read the ingredient list on everything, including products labeled gluten-free. Soy is a top eight allergen, so in the US it will be clearly disclosed. Milk issues, either lactose or casein, are more common among celiacs, but milk is also a top eight allergen.

Maybe somebody can make a gluten-free, soy-free, dairy-free, sugar-free, egg-free, corn-free, potato-free, nut-free, tapioca-free cake mix. There will probably still be a celiac somewhere who can't use it. The rest of us won't be able to afford it.

I don't see how continuing to bash Betty Crocker (or each other) is helping anyone.
  • 1


#660968 Do Not Trust The Trader Joes Labels

Posted by on 16 December 2010 - 06:25 AM

Coke's carbonated beverages are all gluten-free. The color, at least in North America, is derived from corn, but would be below 5 ppm in any event (that is the coloring being below 5 ppm, not the finished product).
  • 1


#660061 Super Foods!

Posted by on 12 December 2010 - 06:57 PM

From what I can gather Marmite is made from brewers yeast and is not safe for celiacs. Am I right??
http://www.spurgeon....hil/marmite.htm

No, Marmite is gluten-free. It is a Unilever product and, as such, will clearly disclose any source of gluten in the ingredient list. The ingredients on the site linked to are:
Yeast Extract
Salt
Vegetable Extract
Vitamin: Niacin
Spices
Vitamins: B1, B2, Folic Acid, B12

none of which are listed as gluten grain sourced.
  • 1