Jump to content

Follow Us:   Twitter Facebook Celiac.com Forum RSS      

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts
arrowShare this page:
Subscribe Today!

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:


Member Since 28 Dec 2004
Offline Last Active Private

#663090 Enterolab Testing & Validity?

Posted by on 25 December 2010 - 07:33 PM

Didnít someone post that it was irresponsible to just start the diet without clinical indication? Isnít clinical indication needed sometimes?

I have been an active participant on this board for six years. I may not have managed to read every post, but I certainly do not recall seeing any post to that effect. To try a dietary change of any type, be it gluten-free, low carb, vegetarian, or whatever, is hardly what I would call irresponsible.
  • 1

#662786 Family Gatherings

Posted by on 23 December 2010 - 08:12 PM

It can be difficult, but you must be firm. I come from a family of three brothers. I am the eldest. My brothers both understand and I trust the youngest one to prepare safe food for me on the occasions when we visit them. The middle brother and his wife don't cook. When they host a family gathering (as will happen Sunday), we go to a restaurant near their home that I trust. When we are the host, everything is gluten-free and nobody has ever made a negative comment.

My father grasps the idea, but forgets, and will offer the garlic gluten toast to me when we are at the restaurant. I say "no, thanks" and then he remembers, and apologizes. He's 86. If I get to 86, I will forget some things too.
  • 1

#661830 Soy; Bad Or Ok?

Posted by on 20 December 2010 - 10:26 AM

Soy is gluten-free, but some people, including some celiacs, are unable to eat it. It is one of the FDA's top eight allergens, so it must be clearly disclosed on labels in the USA.
  • 1

#661209 Trying To Get My Mom To Go Gluten Free

Posted by on 17 December 2010 - 08:36 AM

She is wrong about the cecum--it plays no part in celiac disease that I have ever heard of. The immune system reacts to gluten and produces antibodies which attack the small intestine.

From what you describe, your mother's small intestine is all there. Damage to the villi can not be detected by colonoscopy, although it is often wise to do one in case there are other issues in addition to celiac disease. An endoscopy of the small intestine is used to diagnose celiac disease. Blood tests are also available. Some doctors wil diagnose celiac disease based on the blood work alone.

Edit: If your mother has already had two colonoscopies in six months, there is no benefit to another.
  • 1

#661121 Grrrrrrrr . . .

Posted by on 16 December 2010 - 07:31 PM

Betty Crocker promised a GLUTEN-FREE mix. They delivered a GLUTEN-FREE mix. They have changed the ingredients in their still-GLUTEN-FREE mix.

I realize that some of us have other issues. Those who do must read the ingredient list on everything, including products labeled gluten-free. Soy is a top eight allergen, so in the US it will be clearly disclosed. Milk issues, either lactose or casein, are more common among celiacs, but milk is also a top eight allergen.

Maybe somebody can make a gluten-free, soy-free, dairy-free, sugar-free, egg-free, corn-free, potato-free, nut-free, tapioca-free cake mix. There will probably still be a celiac somewhere who can't use it. The rest of us won't be able to afford it.

I don't see how continuing to bash Betty Crocker (or each other) is helping anyone.
  • 1

#660968 Do Not Trust The Trader Joes Labels

Posted by on 16 December 2010 - 06:25 AM

Coke's carbonated beverages are all gluten-free. The color, at least in North America, is derived from corn, but would be below 5 ppm in any event (that is the coloring being below 5 ppm, not the finished product).
  • 1

#660061 Super Foods!

Posted by on 12 December 2010 - 06:57 PM

From what I can gather Marmite is made from brewers yeast and is not safe for celiacs. Am I right??

No, Marmite is gluten-free. It is a Unilever product and, as such, will clearly disclose any source of gluten in the ingredient list. The ingredients on the site linked to are:
Yeast Extract
Vegetable Extract
Vitamin: Niacin
Vitamins: B1, B2, Folic Acid, B12

none of which are listed as gluten grain sourced.
  • 1

#656894 "gluten Free" Not Actually Gluten Free?

Posted by on 28 November 2010 - 06:49 PM

Parts per million is only a partial answer. Your body reacts the actual total amount of gluten ingested over a given period, say a day. Two slices of 5 ppm bread is the same as half a slice of 20 ppm bread--assuming than the gluten content is, in fact, as high as the label says.

In general, the ppm quoted on a label is the detection threshold of the test used. Zero gluten is less than 5 ppm, and also less than 20 ppm (and less than 200 ppm). But you just cannot prove zero. The tests get more expensive as the threshold gets smaller.

Glutino is a well know and trusted supplier of gluten-free products. At their facilities no gluten is ever intentionally brought in. Nevertheless, they know that cross-contamination can happen at any point on the supply chain, including at the "gluten-free" plant. Someone could enter the facility with crumbs on their clothing from lunch outside. Glutino test their products, using a test which can detect 20 ppm gluten.
  • 2

#656370 Soaking In Water

Posted by on 26 November 2010 - 06:26 AM

Soaking gluten in water will get you soggy gluten. It will still be gluten.
  • 1

#655593 Immature Perhaps But Its Working

Posted by on 22 November 2010 - 06:28 PM

This has been discussed from time to time here.

The general belief (with some who disagree--Jason, I'll count you in that group) is:

If the goal is to improve the experience for all who need to dine gluten-free, then polite constructive criticism when a problem happens will be useful.

Threats of lawsuits, tantrums, and other emotional outbursts will only make the business ask themselves, "Why do we want to even try to deal with these jerks (gluten-free people)??" They will withdraw their gluten-free menu, telling us that nothing in the restaurant is gluten-free. There have been some reported cases of deliberately adding gluten to a recipe to avoid the hassle of arguing with celiacs about whether it is contaminated or not.

I would rather support those businesses that are trying to accommodate us, by being supportive and helpful to them, even when human beings make mistakes as a result of being human.

We as a whole need to make providing gluten-free food in restaurants a positive and pleasant experience for the restaurateurs, or they won't do it at all. Everybody loses in that scenario.
  • 1

#653639 Food Label Question

Posted by on 15 November 2010 - 02:15 PM

"High maltose corn syrup" is a single ingredient, a sugar syrup manufactured from corn.

In an ingredient list, the ingredients are separated by commas. The string of words "high maltose corn syrup" contains no commas--it is one ingredient. It is corn syrup that has a high concentration of the sugar maltose (which occurs naturally in corn).
  • 1

#653633 Food Label Question

Posted by on 15 November 2010 - 01:55 PM

Here is what the Canadian Celiac Association has to say about Maltose:
A simple sugar obtained by enzymatic breakdown of starch (potato, rice, barley or wheat). Although barley or wheat may be used in the production of maltose, the manufacturing process renders maltose gluten-free.

In the US, *any* wheat-sourced ingredient must be disclosed as wheat.
  • 1

#653446 Gluten Free Pasta

Posted by on 14 November 2010 - 05:45 PM

We have had very good results with the Tinkyada brown rice pasta. We weren't as impressed with their white rice pasta.
  • 1

#653240 First Trip With New Girlfriend- Have Some Concerns

Posted by on 13 November 2010 - 07:02 PM

There's nothing wrong with counseling.

It could even help you to feel better about your situation. Been there.
  • 1

#653116 Absence Of Villi In Duodenal

Posted by on 13 November 2010 - 07:35 AM

Absence of discernible villi is Marsh IV, the most advanced stage of celiac damage. In most cases the villi will regenerate, but as said above, it will take time.

Your situation sounds similar to mine in June of 2000. A repeat scope in 2005 showed normal villi. My healing process took several months, although symptoms improved significantly in just a couple of weeks.
  • 3

Celiac.com Sponsors: