Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


psawyer

Member Since 28 Dec 2004
Offline Last Active Private
*****

#632380 Question About Product Labeling...

Posted by psawyer on 17 August 2010 - 08:55 AM

In the US, the top eight allergens must be clearly disclosed. They can be in the ingredients list, or in a "Contains" statement following the list. Either one meets the legal requirement, but many companies do both.

The eight allergens under the federal Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA) are: wheat, soy, milk, peanuts, eggs, tree nuts, fish, and crustacean shellfish.

FALCPA requires that in the case of tree nuts, the specific type of nut must be declared (e.g., almonds, pecans, or walnuts). The species must be declared for fish (e.g., bass, flounder, or cod) and Crustacean shellfish (crab, lobster, or shrimp).
  • 1


#631950 Label Question

Posted by psawyer on 15 August 2010 - 05:58 PM

Of that long list of ingredients with hard-to-pronounce names, there are very few which contain gluten. Organic foods will have shorter ingredient lists, and higher prices, but are not necessarily less likely to contain gluten. Wheat and barley are grown organically, just like other crops.
  • 1


#631284 "But You Can Eat Whole Wheat, Right?"

Posted by psawyer on 12 August 2010 - 08:27 PM

Spelt contains gluten. It is not identical to modern wheat, but neither is barley or rye. Celiacs must avoid all forms of gluten, including spelt.
  • 1


#630653 Enfamil Poly-Vi-Sol With Iron/ D-Vi-Sol Contain Caramel Color-- Ok?

Posted by psawyer on 10 August 2010 - 11:56 AM

Caramel color is one of those celiac urban myths that just won't go away.

Here is Shelley Case's take on it, from Gluten-Free Diet A Comprehensive Resource Guide:

Although gluten-containing ingredients (barley malt syrup and starch hydrolysates) can be used in the production of caramel color, North American companies use corn as it has a longer shelf life and makes a superior product. European companies use glucose derived from wheat starch, however caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten.

[Emphasis in original]
  • 1


#630080 "But You Can Eat Whole Wheat, Right?"

Posted by psawyer on 08 August 2010 - 06:16 AM

While "natural flavors" can contain gluten, they very rarely actually do. The most likely source would be barley malt, and that is a relatively expensive ingredient, so it is usually explicitly declared as "malt flavor."

If there were wheat in it, in the US it would be required by law to be disclosed as just that, "wheat."

Shelly Case on flavorings:

It would be rare to find a "natural or artificial flavoring" containing gluten (a) because hydrolyzed wheat protein cannot be hidden under the term "flavor." and (b) barley malt extract is almost always declared as "barley malt extract" or "barley malt flavoring." For this reason, most experts do not restrict natural and artificial flavorings in the gluten-free diet.

Gluten-Free Diet - A Comprehensive Resource Guide, published 2008, page 46


  • 1


#629387 Good Gluten Free Salad Dressings

Posted by psawyer on 05 August 2010 - 11:19 AM

I am very comfortable buying products from any Kraft brand. I know that if I don't see a gluten grain listed, it isn't hiding. Unilever is another huge company with the same policy--disclose any gluten grain by name.
  • 1


#628854 "But You Can Eat Whole Wheat, Right?"

Posted by psawyer on 03 August 2010 - 05:27 PM

My understanding is that gluten can be destroyed by heating to at least 650F throughout and then holding for at least thirty minutes. Any food you did that to would no longer be edible and would be full of newly created carcinogens. Bon appetit! :blink:
  • 1


#626029 Reputation

Posted by psawyer on 23 July 2010 - 10:50 AM

It is of dubious value, but I'll try to explain.

At the bottom right of each post, just above the MultiQuote button, are two round buttons and a square with a number in it. Members can click on the circles. The green one with "+" is positive feedback about the post; the red on with "-" is negative feedback.

The number of times these buttons have been pushed is tracked and creates your "reputation." Initially, you have a zero value, which is "neutral."
  • 5


#623319 Kirkland Spices At Costco

Posted by psawyer on 11 July 2010 - 04:39 PM

Generally speaking, spices are single-ingredient items which are inherently gluten-free. No grain is considered a spice. Seasonings, however, can be a blend of just about anything. In the US, by law, wheat must be clearly disclosed, but barley and rye do not. FWIW, I have NEVER encountered a case where rye was hidden--it is barley with which you need to be concerned.
  • 1


#621179 'dedicated' Fast Food Fryers

Posted by psawyer on 02 July 2010 - 02:35 PM

In the United States (and only in the United States) there is a wheat derivative used at the plant where McDonalds fries are manufactured. That derivative, along with a dairy derivative, is used to make a beef flavor. That flavor is added to the oil in which the product is partially fried before being frozen and shipped.

At the store, the frying process is completed. The oil used at the store is different from the oil used at the plant, and has no flavor.

The finished product has been independently tested by a recognized expert at the University of Nebraska. Using the most sensitive test available, no gluten was detected in the fries.
  • 1


#618590 Which French Fries Can We Have?

Posted by psawyer on 21 June 2010 - 04:47 PM

... but cannot guarantee with 100% certainty the CC will not occur.

Nobody can honestly guarantee that, and anyone who claims to is at best mistaken and at worst lying.
  • 1


#617799 How Many Are Not Gluten Free

Posted by psawyer on 18 June 2010 - 10:42 AM

I'm not one of them, but there are quite a few members, including two of the moderators, who are not gluten-free, but have a child with celiac disease.
  • 1


#617142 Frustrated About Incorrect, Out Of Date Posts

Posted by psawyer on 15 June 2010 - 05:51 PM

It is the policy of this board to remove posts only if they are in violation of the board rules. Posts which contain outdated information, but which were in compliance with the rules when they were made, are still in compliance.

When an old topic is revived we often post a notice that the information is old and may no longer be correct. Posts are displayed in chronological sequence with the oldest first. There is no way we can put something at the top of the topic--we can only post at the end of the thread.

To the hot dog topic, a recent post asked which brand, that used to be the only one with gluten, was now gluten-free. I posted there with the brand name.

Food status changes all the time. There are well over half a million posts on this board. We simply can't go back and reread every one each time a product has a new ingredient list.
  • 1


#614787 The Funny Pages - Tickle Me Elbow - The Original

Posted by psawyer on 04 June 2010 - 06:44 PM

What if the mods plus each other? Is that bad?

I don't know...let's try it and see. :unsure:
  • 5


#614542 Should I Have Been Eating Gluten Prior To These Tests?

Posted by psawyer on 03 June 2010 - 06:36 PM

Your results are negative for antibodies related to celiac disease, but if you have not been eating gluten then there will not be antibodies--at least not enough to register on the test. I was retested a few years ago, and everything was normal. Does that mean that I no longer have celiac disease? NO! It means that I have been very successful in following the gluten-free diet, and there is not any gluten in my food to trigger the autoimmune response. :)
  • 1