Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


caringforjay

Member Since 17 Mar 2010
Offline Last Active Sep 21 2010 05:45 PM
-----

Posts I've Made

In Topic: Annatto

21 September 2010 - 05:50 PM

I've heard many opinions on whether or not Annatto food coloring is gluten free. It's not on the forbidden list from this site, but it IS on the forbidden list my gastrointerologist gave me from the Celiac Disease Foundation. I was surprised that it was on one list and not the other, but it explained a lot since I have clearly reacted to it with my typical celiac disease symptoms. I looked into it further and found this:

"annatto color: A coloring agent derived from the seeds of the Achiote, also known as the Lipstick tree (Bixa orellana), it is often used in cheese but also in many other orange-colored foods. The seed itself is unlikely to contain any gluten, it is the processing of the seed into a colorant that causes concern as it appears to use alcohol in the process. There is also suspicion that caramel color may be included in the annatto colorant. Anecdotal evidence has some celiacs reacting to foods with annatto color in them but this may be a non-celiac reaction to the annatto itself."


Any comments on this? Has anyone else reacted to Annatto?


My boyfriend, we think, reacts to annatto so we are careful to avoid it. We did just find out that Yoplait Light Harvest Peach Yogurt contains annatto.