My tongue has been numb since Saturday. Not total numbness-can't move it, it wouldn't hurt if I bit it kind of numbness; but more like if you spray cloroseptic on your tongue kind of numbness. Here is my train of thought: When I am exposed to gluten, I get atypical silent migrains. My left arm, and lips and nose go numb for about 15-20 minutes. Friday I was at the dr for a yearly physical. I was advised to have the DTaP because they are finding a reoccurance of pertussis (whooping cough) and arerecommending this for adult. So, I agreed. The injection site was sore for a couple days (not unusual with the tetanus part of the vaccine), and a welt is still there. Any reason to believe that a injected vaccine could contain gluten? The doctor doesn't think so. These are not typical migraine symptoms for me, and they never last this long. I am waiting for a call from my neurologist...but there are so many intelligent people out here...I thought I would get your thoughts.
My sister finally went to be tested for celiac. I was dx in August, and I encouraged her to be tested as well. She has long avoided breads as she would get stomach pains and bloating. So, she went for the blood test and biopsy. The doctor has been less than helpful. He states she has "leisions" in her stomach and intestines. She called back 3 times (he won't see her) and finally he stated "I cannot scientifically tell you you have celiac". She doesn't have the option of another doctor due to her insurance situation. She has noted, despite this, a positive results from the gluten-free diet, and has had issues if she attempts to reintroduce gluten into her diet. She is staying gluten-free at this point, but we are concerned if the leision could indicate something else as well or if it could be part of this disease. Any ideas?
I noticed some Tomato Basil Soup from Healthy Choice the other day which didn't seem to have gluten ingredients. I contacted Healthy Choice and here is the responce I received.
"Thank you for your email concerning our Healthy Choice® Soup, a product of ConAgra Foods.
Unfortunately, we are not able to guarantee that our products ingredients are gluten-free, since the source of an ingredient may change from time to time. However, we can assist you by affirming that a product has been formulated without commonly known gluten-containing ingredients. We understand how difficult it can be finding foods that meet the requirements of a restricted diet, and we continue to look for ways to meet the dietary needs of our consumers.
Since wheat is one of our top allergens, if it is used in the product, it would be listed in the Contains statement following the ingredients list. The flour used in many of our products is wheat flour and you should avoid these products if you have gluten sensitivities.
If any ingredient in the product includes rye, barley or oats, it will be listed in parentheses immediately following the ingredient. This also holds true for labels that include Natural Flavors, Artificial Flavors or Spices. Wheat, oat, barley or rye would be called out following these items in the ingredient list.
Some fermented or distilled products such as vinegar may be derived from wheat. We suggest that you speak to your physician to determine if you need to avoid distilled products derived from wheat, rye, barley, or oats, as there are differing opinions between experts. You should avoid malted vinegar if you have gluten sensitivities.
We always advise consumers who may have sensitivities to recheck the ingredient list on each package. Products are oftentimes reformulated and the ingredients may change. If Natural Flavors, Artificial Flavors, or Spices listed in the ingredients list contain wheat, oat, barley, or rye, these ingredients would be listed in parenthesis immediately following the ingredient.
I know other's have stated that Rudi's gluten-free bread is better than Udi's. I have to agree! And, I love Udi's! If you get a chance, check it out. On their web site they have a place where you can find if anyone sells it locally.