Jump to content

Follow Us:   Twitter Facebook Celiac.com Forum RSS      

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts
arrowShare this page:
Subscribe Today!

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:


Member Since 26 Sep 2010
Offline Last Active Feb 26 2011 08:10 AM

Posts I've Made

In Topic: New To Living On A Gluten Free Diet And Having Celiac Disease

29 September 2010 - 04:13 PM

Hello Everyone

I would like to get some advice on how to deal Celiac Disease. I was just told a week ago that I have Celiac Disease.

I am unsure of what I can and can't eat.

I am afraid of what it means to change my life at my age, my husxband is kinda freaking out a lot.

Anything that you can tell me would be very helpful...

Yes i can help you if you want it and I just find out not very long ago I have Celiac Disease and I know how freaking out it is well I have a list that you can get and can not eat.Fresh meat Fish and shellfish Poultry and game
Here is the list the food you can eat:

Vegetables Fresh herbs Fruit
Dried fruit Nuts Eggs
Cheese Cottage cheese (not cheese spreads) Milk (when newly diagnosed you may be lactose intolerant)
Dried beans, peas and pulses Vegetable oils, sunflower oil, olive oil Almonds, ground or whole
Rice, ground, long or short grain Rice cakes/crackers Rice flour (and other gluten free flours)
Yeast Cream of tartar Bicarbonate of soda
Sugar Dried peppercorns Cornflour (from the maize plant
Tamari soy sauce Marmite (only if made in the UK) Yoghurts (without crunchy bits)
Cider vinegar Wine vinegar Distilled vinegar
Sago Tapioca Millet
Quinoa Flax seed Corn Tortillas
Corn tacos Popcorn (check any coating) Homemade soups (not roux based)
Jelly (jello) Jam Marmalade
Honey Golden syrup Black treacle or molasses
Tea (check herb teas first) Fruit juice Fruit squash (not barley water
Xanthan gum (replaces "elastic" quality of gluten)

Gluten Free Vegetables and Fruit

As an accompaniment to main meals, or the meal itself if you are a gluten free vegan or vegetarian, it is nice to eat fresh vegetables and fruit that are in season.
All vegetables and fruit are gluten free, unless you add something to them, such as a sauce or coating.

The following table highlights which produce is available at different times of the year.

Beetroot Purple Sprouting Broccoli Asparagus Wild mushrooms
Cabbage Carrots Courgettes (Zucchini) Sweetcorn
Leeks Spring onions (Scallions) Mange Tout Beetroot
Onions New potatoes Globe Artichokes Sweetcorn
Brussels Sprouts Spring greens Garden Peas Cauliflowers
Shallots Lettuces Green beans Carrots
Parsnips Asparagus Cucumber Marrows
Swede Broad beans Lettuces Broccoli
Spinach Spinach Radishes Butternut squash
Curly Kale Rhubarb Watercress Turnips
Artichokes Peppers Cabbages
Pumpkin Tomatoes Parsnips
Apples Sweetcorn Celery
Pears Summer berries Leeks
Nuts Cherries Apples
Bananas (year round) Currants Pears
Oranges (year round) Plums Almonds
Melons Chestnuts
Apricots Elderberries

Grains and baked foods containing gluten

foods containing gluten food labels gluten free diet free diet supplements

Bread and bread rolls Rye bread, pumpernickel Yorkshire pudding
Pretzels Cakes Stuffings (click here for gluten free stuffing recipes
Muffins Pastry or pie crust Pancakes (click here for gluten free almond flour pancakes
Biscuits or cookies Pasta - macaroni, spaghetti, etc. (Click for dishes made with gluten free pasta) Crispbreads
Bulgar wheat Durham Crumble toppings (click for a safe, tasty apple crumble topping)
Couscous Pizza (click here for a safe pizza dough recipe) Semolina
Scones Anything in breadcrumbs Some breakfast cereals(click here for a list of gluten free breakfast cereals)
All Bran Sponge puddings Breadcrumbed ham
Barley water drinks Malted drinks, such as Horlicks Muesli

Here is the food you should not have:

Foods containing hidden gluten

Other foods containing gluten could trick the unsuspecting newly diagnosed Coeliac sufferer into thinking they are safe. The list below shows things that should be checked.

Sausages - often contain rusk (and the machines used to make them are often cleaned out with bread) Luncheon meat - may contain fillers Blue cheeses (may be made with bread)
Gravy powders and stock cubes such as OXO cubes Matzo flour/meal Shredded suet in packs (flour is normally used to keep the strands separate)
Seitan (doesn't contain gluten, it IS gluten!) Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (HVP) Baked beans (there may be gluten in the tomato sauce)
Farina Meat and fish pastes Pates and imitation crab meat
Self basting turkeys Sauces - often thickened with flour Communion wafers
Soups - may be roux based (made with flour) Mustard - dry mustard powder contains gluten Instant coffee - may be bulked out with flour
Brown rice syrup Cheap brands of chocolate Potato crips/chips - some are OK, read the ingredients!
Soy sauce - only Tamari is OK Drinking chocolate Licorice
Chutneys and pickles Salad dressings Curry powder and other spices (can be bulked out with flour)
White pepper Malt vinegar Play Dough click here for a cornflour recipe
Supplements Some toothpastes Some lipsticks
Some pharmaceutical products

There is more if you want to know more information about you can look it up google Gluten-Free there is a lot of information about it and I hope this help

Celiac.com Sponsors: