Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


xabsx

Member Since 02 Dec 2010
Offline Last Active Dec 03 2010 03:42 PM
-----

Posts I've Made

In Topic: Modified Corn Starch

03 December 2010 - 03:32 PM

I was under the impression that in the US it can't be modified with wheat or it would have to list as modified food starch. I was under the impression that all modified corn starch is Gluten Free. In fact, in the US, it is cheaper to use corn rather than wheat so most modified food starch is actually corn based, and gluten free, but when it is listed as modified food starch, you should call to ask.

Kim.


Kim,
This is true. I am very sensitive to gluten of any kind and modified corn starch does not have gluten in it. It is purely corn starch modified, which means it may have a chemical or something in it which is like another ingredient to thicken it. It is not a big deal, compared to most of the semi raw chemicals most of us are consuming every day. So after all my blabbing, modified corn starch is gluten free. The thing you really have to watch out for is modified food starch. I don't know about any one else, but it makes me sick within hours and sometimes thirty to forty- five minutes.

Angie

In Topic: Modified Food Starch?

02 December 2010 - 03:14 PM

Is this bad or good? It is in Catalina Dressing, if that helps :)



I have Celiac and modified food starch will make me incredibly sick within hours. Be careful of everything with it in it.