If dairy (and particularly lactose) is an issue, stadium cheeze is not going to be your friend. Check out the percentages for "processed" American and Velveeta in particular, since those would be closest to any kind of nacho sauce: http://www.stevecarp...percentages.htm
Fat is another issue. It can upset your ailing tummy as much as any forbidden food. Dairy and fat together? They're like a dynamic duo of very delicious evil.
I would say that it's unusual for corn chips or nacho cheeze to have gluten in it. I've seen "modified food starch" without a specified source, but I've never seen actual wheat flour. That said, I too don't like to eat anything I can't read first. When coworkers bring a snack to work, I feel like a horrible person but I always have to ask, "Can I see the label?" Some people scoff at chain restaurants or cafes like Starbucks, but I love being able to see all the ingredients on the website before I even THINK about going in. I simply don't trust people to know whether a food is gluten free or not.
Austin GuyMember Since 11 May 2011
Offline Last Active Sep 26 2014 08:49 AM
Self diagnosed gluten intolerance 3 years ago. Since then I have either become intolerant to other foods - or the gluten symptoms masked the others. I can't do wheat, rye, barley, soy, eggs, peanuts and dairy unless I take a lactase tablet. Talk about defensive dining!
- Group Advanced Members
- Active Posts 128
- Profile Views 4,234
- Member Title Advanced Community Member
- Age 57 years old
- Birthday November 14, 1957