Jump to content

Follow Us:   Twitter Facebook Celiac.com Forum RSS      

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts
arrowShare this page:
Subscribe Today!

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:


Member Since 08 Jun 2011
Offline Last Active Yesterday, 03:54 PM

#939441 Confused About Gluten Free Labeling/manufacturing

Posted by on 30 January 2015 - 04:30 PM

"You should give your body a few months to actually heal before trying those "gluten free" labeled items off the shelf. They can leave a 100% gluten free facility and then be cross contaminated during shipping, handling, and shelving in the stores."


Sunny, according to that statement, ANYTHING can be cross-contaminated during shipping, handling, and selving in the store. If a product is wrapped that is very unlikely. Fresh fruits and vegetables on the other hand are not wrapped. But we wash them before eating them whether we are gluten-free or not so we aren't eating dirt and pesticides, so those aren't a problem either.


It's a good idea (again, whether we are gluten-free or not) to wash the tops of cans before we open them so we don't get possible flour dust, regular dust, or germs in our food.


The 20 PPM or less standard for gluten-free labeling does not mean there are 20PPM. It says, "OR LESS". Some things have NO PPM. But most celiacs can tolerate 20 PPM or less so that is the standard they use. Things that have the CERTIFIED gluten-free label are often tested down to 5 or 10 PPM, but because they ARE tested, they are perfectly safe. You don't even need to read the ingredients on them.


One other thing Veronica, once you start eating processed foods again that DON'T have a gluten-free label,  it is vital that you read every label, every time. Companies change ingredients often depending on price and availability. Something you bought last week that didn't contain gluten might contain it this week.

  • 3

#939428 Confused About Gluten Free Labeling/manufacturing

Posted by on 30 January 2015 - 01:34 PM

In the USA, they can no longer put "gluten-free" on the label unless it IS gluten-free. However, they are not required to test their products in order to call it gluten-free. MOST companies who put gluten-free on the label should be safe, but under the new law, they are only required to test if someone complains.


The products you see that say "Certified gluten-free" HAVE been tested and are safe for us to eat.


Companies are not required to state whether or not their products are made in the same facility or on the same line as gluten containing products. Some companies do though - Kraft, Unilever, Nestle, Con-Agra, General Mills, and probably some others. Planter's nuts for example, are a Kraft product and although the label doesn't say gluten-free, if you read the ingredients and don't see a gluten ingredient or "processed in the same facility/line...", you will know they are safe. (I eat them all the time.)


So that opens up lots of possibilities for you. In the US, wheat MUST be labeled, rye is mostly only found in rye bread, so the only thing you have to watch out for is barley (things like malt). Also, oats, unless they are certified gluten-free are almost always contaminated. And there are some celiacs who can't even tolerate certified gluten-free oats because the protein (the part we react to) is so similar to gluten.


Now, all that being said, you should stick to whole foods at first. Meats, rice, potatoes, fruits, veggies and nuts. It's hard to digest foods when your gut is damaged and these things will be easier for you. Shop the outside aisles where whole foods are more likely to be found. The fewer ingredients in a food, the better.


gluten-free substitutes are full of calories and have very little nutrition. They are also very expensive. There ARE some decent tasting breads out there, but save them for later. First of all, you will have time to heal, and second of all, you will "forget" what regular bread tastes like and they will be more palatable. Do not, I repeat, Do NOT try Ener-G bread. It is the nastiest, vilest tasting thing ever invented! :wacko:  :lol: When the time comes for you to buy bread try Udi's multi-grain or Canyon Bakehouse Seven Grain.


Now, go to the coping section and read the Newbie 101 thread to learn LOT'S, then come on back with any questions.


And welcome to the forum. :)

  • 1

#939289 Are 4C Gluten Free Bread Crumbs Really gluten-free?

Posted by on 28 January 2015 - 04:03 PM

Yes, if it is "certified gluten-free", it has been tested. There are lots of companies with shared facilities who test their gluten-free products and get certified. I've never, ever gotten sick from anything with the gluten-free certified label.  


As the OP said, she is not sure if the breadcrumbs are what made her child sick. As a new poster here perhaps her child is new to gluten-free. If she still has damage to her gut she could have been sickened by just about anything. When we first start lots of different foods can make us feel ill - things with too much spice, acidic foods, things with too much fiber, and others. That doesn't mean she was glutened.

  • 1

#938856 Inflammation In Ribs That Keeps Coming Back

Posted by on 22 January 2015 - 04:10 PM

According to the Mayo Clinic, the only difference between the two conditions is that with Tietze there is also swelling. http://www.mayoclini...on/con-20024454


I also read that Tietze often comes back. Sounds like your doctor is right on with the diagnosis.


I can't take NSAIDS either so I take Tylenol. And I take grapeseed extract. It is an anti-inflammatory that has done wonders for me. I get mine at Shopko. If there is no Shopko near you check at a health food store. You can either check with your doctor or look it up online to see if there are any other meds you take that it may interfere with.

  • 1

#938437 What Is Super Sensitive?

Posted by on 14 January 2015 - 10:14 AM

I'm thinking that if you just started with separate butter when your daughter got sick, you may still not be completely gluten-free. All containers of "stuff" like mayo, peanut butter, etc. have to be dedicated to the gluten-free eaters in the house. If you haven't already, go to the coping section here and read the Newbie 101 thread for more ideas.



How about kisses? If a gluten eater doesn't brush well before kissing you you can get glutened. And pet foods can be a problem. Not only do they (most of them) contain gluten that you will breathe in when you pour them into the dish, but your pet is now a source of glutening. Doggy kisses are just as dangerous as people kisses, and kittys may be even worse because they clean themselves with their gluteny tongues. Pet the cat and then pop something into your mouth without washing your hands first, and you are potentially glutening yourself.


As someone mentioned, medications and supplements should all be checked for gluten. Eating out is usually dangerous unless it is a totally gluten-free restaurant. And don't forget to read EVERY label, EVERY time you buy something. Formulas change depending on price and availability of ingredients. I have actually seen it when I buy two of something. It was an ice cream that I used to buy. One container from last week's shipment was as usual, but the second container was from a new shipment and it now contained guar gum. Now guar gum is not a gluten ingredient but it COULD have been. See what I mean?

  • 1

#938115 How Many Doctors Does It Take To Diagnose Gluten Sensitivity? - Celiac.com

Posted by on 09 January 2015 - 12:53 PM

How many doctors does it take to diagnose gluten sensitivity? Three. One to call it IBS, one to say gluten sensitivity doesn't exist, and one to claim it's all in your head.

  • 2

#937431 Gluten Free Wedding - Help!

Posted by on 27 December 2014 - 01:16 PM



I humbly suggest you elope. You'll save the money you would have spent and you'll save the hassle of food. But if you do decide to do the 50 people wedding, seeing it's going to be at a cabin in the woods how about chili with cornbread, a huge salad, and a gluten-free wedding cake? If you ask others to bring something you KNOW there will be CC at best or downright gluten ingredients at worst.


To save money you could even make the chili a vegetarian type. But even if you decide to put meat in it you won't need that much.

  • 1

#937372 How Do You Get And Keep A Job?

Posted by on 26 December 2014 - 04:35 PM

Accidental glutenings don't have to happen. In the three and a half years I have been gluten-free I have only been glutened once and that was back at the beginning. I simply do not eat anything I didn't cook myself. I read every label every time when I go shopping. If I am unsure about an item I put it back. I live alone and cook in bulk so there is always something in the freezer I can grab for a quick meal. If I am going somewhere I plan ahead so I don't have to worry about food.

  • 2

#936971 Chef That Wants Your Feedback

Posted by on 16 December 2014 - 04:38 PM

Suggestion: forget about EnerG. Just about everyone here agrees that is the nastiest tasting bread out there. It even smells bad.



Against the Grain is another company that makes great stuff. Not good for those who can't have dairy but perfect for those who can't have grains. And what I love about that company is it is a completely gluten-free facility - to the point that employees are not even allowed to bring gluten foods for their own lunch.


Also, there is a cookbook (fairly new I believe) called "I can't believe it's gluten-free" or something like that. (Hey everybody, you know the one I'm talking about so chime in and correct me because I think I have the name wrong.)

  • 2

#936906 Kraft Cheez Whiz

Posted by on 15 December 2014 - 04:36 PM

It sounds like it is very possible that you do have celiac. Could I make a suggestion? Drop ALL dairy for at least six months. The lactaid may help with the lactose portion of dairy but there is also casein in dairy. If your villi are damaged from celiac they can't digest dairy. And there is both milk protein concentrate and whey protein concentrate in that Cheez Wiz. That's a lot of concentrated dairy right there.

  • 1

#935917 How Much Can One Person Take? I've Reached My Limit...

Posted by on 02 December 2014 - 10:29 AM

YES!!!!!!!   jumping-for-joy-smiley-emoticon.gif

  • 1

#935354 Got A Turkey

Posted by on 20 November 2014 - 12:37 PM

I say THIS to the corn-free gods:  slapping.gif

  • 1

#935139 Am I Just Nervous

Posted by on 17 November 2014 - 03:37 PM

What she said. :)


And do go over to the coping section here to read the Newbie 101 thread. It'll help a LOT!

  • 1

#934948 Is Great Value Canned Chunk Chicken Breast gluten-free?

Posted by on 15 November 2014 - 10:10 AM

If it contained wheat the label would have to say so. It's the law.


That being said, there is no law about labeling for barley. I would think it would be on the label anyway though. The only way to know for sure is to call the company and/or check their website. (It's been my experience that emailing is better. They could always deny a person on the phone told you it was gluten-free, but if they put it in writing they had better be right. Not only that, but half the time the people on the phone don't know what they're talking about but the person writing the email has time to double check and make sure.)

  • 1

#934475 Does Your School Provide A gluten-free Lunch For Your Kids?

Posted by on 08 November 2014 - 02:13 PM

I don't think your school is following the guidelines if they took away salad and replaced it with a hot dog. The new menu is supposed to be heavy on fruits and vegetables and low on salt. Hot dogs are notorious for being high sodium.



  • 2

Celiac.com Sponsors: