Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


svs

Member Since 27 Jun 2011
Offline Last Active Jul 09 2014 05:27 PM
-----

Posts I've Made

In Topic: gluten-free, Df Hot Chocolate

06 February 2012 - 05:45 PM

Yummy! I am going to have to try this! :D

In Topic: Packaging/labelling Issues!

07 December 2011 - 04:11 PM

Actually, it is not selective. Both ingredient lists list the exact same nine ingredients, in the same order.

The difference is that the second one also has allergen information embedded. Allergen information is required on the retail package, and placing it in parentheses after the affected ingredient(s) is one permissible way to do it.

An alternative would be to use the first ingredients list, and also have the statement:
"Contains: wheat, milk and soy."

The order of the ingredients list is significant, as it is in descending order by weight. The contains statement may list the allergens in any order, but must list all of them. In this example, soy is in the contains statement, but the allergen is clearly disclosed in the ingredient name, "soya lecithin." Butter needs to be disclosed as "milk" since milk is the common name of the allergen.

I realize that this sounds picky, and it is, but we are dealing with complex legal regulations. Ingredient lists are legally regulated documents. Some words have meanings that differ from common usage. When we talk about "starch" in conversation, it can be many things, but the single word "starch" in an ingredient list must be pure corn starch.

Thanks! I appreciate you explaining it to me! I don't understand all those regulations! :blink:

In Topic: Packaging/labelling Issues!

06 December 2011 - 12:17 PM

If we are talking about a case which contains packages intended for individual retail sale, then there is no requirement to list ingredients on the outer case at all.


The Canadian Celiac Association lists glucose as "allowed," being "a common sugar used as sweetener." The manufacturing process yields pure sugar, which is gluten-free.

That's good to know that they aren't REQUIRED to put it on, HOWEVER why do they put SELECTIVE ones on? I ended up contacting the company and am waiting to see what they say...it could have been CC on the factory line too!

In Topic: Spelt & MiIL

30 November 2011 - 11:30 AM

I plan on having a FULL gluten-free meal! This way she can see that there is lots of foods, just different ways to prepare it that would make it safe for me! I also can't eat potatoes so they'll have to go through one meal without them! :P

In Topic: Spelt & MiIL

30 November 2011 - 07:50 AM

Have you tried inviting them to your house for dinner instead of you going to their home? If it's at your house then you have complete control over what's served

Yes, I have a few times, maybe I should do it again for awhile so they understand more!