Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Beth P.

Member Since 19 Oct 2011
Offline Last Active Jan 29 2013 11:50 AM
-----

Posts I've Made

In Topic: Modified Food Starch - Avoid?

29 January 2013 - 11:20 AM

I've been puzzled by the "modified food starch" for a long time also. Fanta orange pop (and other flavors) say that on the label. & I've always been wary of it. There is a high-end grocery store in my town that has another brand of pop for sale right next to the Fanta. It carries a Gluten-Free label, as if to suggest that the other brands are not. I don't know where Fanta is made, since I don't have a bottle in front of me, but I will stop worrying about it.

In Topic: Annatto

28 January 2013 - 08:18 AM

could be your allergic to the lipstick tree -
Bixa orellana.

its a relative of chocolate, Kola, Okra and cotton. In itself the tree is gluten free. what some companies might do to it is another story.
Annatto that is making you sick might be for another reason.

good luck


Thanks for that info! I had a hard time finding this thread again to find your reply. It's interesting that the tree is related to chocolate, since I am also allergic to chocolate.

There are SO MANY booby-traps! I just now read the list of ingredients on a bottle of pop I was drinking. Fanta orange soda in the glass bottle: contains modified food starch.................

Beth P.

In Topic: Annatto

22 January 2013 - 06:34 PM

I'd like to add a comment about my own experiences with annatto. I have been gluten-free for about 3 1/2 years now & have much less trouble than before. But I still react to things that I don't yet know what they are. Hives, swelling of fingers, palms, wrist, soles of my feet. But worst is when my tongue suddenly swells up, which happens a lot.
I have kept a food diary & have had suspicions about certain flavored syrups as well as eggnog & the margarine I use. I have finally narrowed it all down to the common ingredient of annatto.
The reaction is usually about 2 hours later. It is probably a true allergy & not an intolerance in the way the celiac thing is. I have found a margarine that has beta-carotene as a coloring agent & am going to try that out. Looking forward to a breakfast of gluten-free muffins, annatto-free margarine, & NO tongue-swelling.

In Topic: Campbells Soup And Swanson Broth Alerts

04 January 2013 - 05:27 PM

Also, be aware, the list of gluten-free Campbell's products in Canada is different from the US. Be sure you are looking at information for the right country.

Swanson seems to have quite a variety of beef broths with slightly different names. I just bought a 14.5 oz. can of Swanson 100% Natural Beef Broth 100% Fat Free No added MSG. The list of ingredients SEEMED innocuous, but now I am suspicious of the term "yeast extract". It sounds to me that this product is NOT gluten-free, although I cannot find it specifically mentioned in this thread. I'm going to toss it out & not use it, but I am puzzled why they bother to make some of their products gluten-free, but not this one.

Any additional information & clarification you might be able to provide would be most appreciated.

Beth P.