If you have celiac disease, your body can't safely digest gluten from wheat, rye and barley. However, the zein form of gluten in corn is safe for individuals with celiac disease.
However, the gluten found in corn will not cause this autoimmune response and your villi remain healthy.
And the references for the article are:
Celiac Sprue Association: Treatment of Celiac Disease
National Foundation for Celiac Awareness: The Gluten-Free Diet
Celiac Sprue Association: Gluten-Free Diet: Grains and Flours
The University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center: Gluten-Free Diet
MayoClinic.com: Gluten-Free Diet
DW in NYC, please know that we are not against you. We are aware people & are not being "hoodwinked" on the subject of corn.
I really think you are upset right now & more than a little anxious. This DOES happen when newly gluten free. As has already been mentioned part of gluten withdrawal is brain fog &; I think perhaps you are getting a bit mixed up. I do not say this to infuriate you! I know this is true b/c I had it; and sooooo many others here went through it. Please try to calm down &; look at this subject on a new day in a new light.