I sent an email to the company that makes Theraderm and received this response:
Thanks for your question. Therapon uses no ingredients that are made from or have residues from corn or wheat. Our products have always been Gluten free.
If I can be of further assistance, please don't hesitate to call.
Have a great day!
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE
THERAPON SKIN HEALTH
Hope this helps someone who uses any of the Therapon products.
I wanted to follow up on continued correspondence that I had with the Theraderm people. I had asked about the tocopherol used in the serum, as I know people (including myself) have wondered if it was wheat based or not. She sent it to the founder of the company and this is his answer:
Below is Dr. B’s response. (Wasn’t sure if he forwarded it to you)
Tocopherol acetate is technically one of eight substances in a group of molecule variations that can be called “Vitamin E.” This wording is used to define an ingredient in a cosmetic when it is a pure chemical as it is manufactured and not “separated/extracted” from wheat germ sources.
When a nutritional/oral (diet supplement, vitamin, etc) product lists vitamin E it is almost universally sourced from wheat germ oil. It most commonly would be written as alpha tocopherol. That ingredient may, but not necessarily, have trace residue from gluten. When used as a preservative, the vitamin E would usually be in a very small amount to prevent mold, mildew, or spoiling in natural fashion.
When Therapon lists an ingredient as Tocopherol Acetate, it is in purity form and not from wheat and therefore not a gluten derivative.