Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


TDL363

Member Since 31 Mar 2012
Offline Last Active Nov 20 2012 05:29 PM
-----

Topics I've Started

Frustrated With Conflicting Msg Reports And Link To Celiac

20 November 2012 - 05:31 PM

Have been sick for over 30 years....thought it was MSG but recently found out I am celiac. I have read many articles that link MSG to wheat....many sites list items to avoid because they are another name for MSG (anything hydrolyzed). People DON'T EAT IT...DEFINITE LINK TO WHEAT INTOLERANCE. I have not heard of anyone with celiac or gluten intolerance that can tolerate MSG . Don't say it is Celiac safe... that statement is NOT TRUE


MONOSODIUM GLUTAMATE (MSG)
Monosodium glutamate is the sodium salt of glutamic acid, an amino acid present in virtually all proteins, including meats, vegetables, poultry, cheese, cow's milk, and human milk.
The process for producing MSG imported from some parts of world cannot be confirmed. MSG could be produced from wheat gluten in those areas.
It is therefore recommended that Celiac- Sprue patients exercise caution in using this ingredient.
.