Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


happygirl

Member Since 15 Jul 2005
Offline Last Active Mar 10 2011 03:11 AM
*****

#626757 Need To Find A Dentist

Posted by happygirl on 26 July 2010 - 03:21 PM

Yes, definitely tell them. In intake forms, they will usually ask about allergies, and you can just list it there. Then, when the dentist reviews it and brings it up, you can mention that you need to check all products before they are used on you, etc. Easy!

Good luck!
  • 1


#481213 Elisa Gluten Test Kit For Food

Posted by happygirl on 03 November 2008 - 11:52 AM

Note that the original post and most of the thread is over 3 years old.
  • 1


#461030 Social Security Benefits For Children With Celiac?

Posted by happygirl on 27 August 2008 - 04:09 PM

Lots of normal foods are naturally gluten free - meats/poultry, vegetables, fruits, lunchmeats, rice, beans, corn tortillas, etc. The gluten free "specialty" items are not a requirement. Many people who are on the gluten free diet eat predominantly naturally occuring gluten free items.

You may want to contact the owner of Better Batter Flours - she does a great presentation on budgeting and saving money on a gluten-free diet and speaks about it to Celiac Support Groups. I'm sure she'd be happy to share some of her thoughts with you. http://betterbatter.org/contact.html

Good luck and hang in there. Let us know what we can do to help.
  • 1


#460767 "bush's Best"- Baked Beans - Safe

Posted by happygirl on 26 August 2008 - 07:02 PM

Modified Food Starch is safe for those with Celiac. The only instance it would not be is if it said "Modified Food Starch - Wheat".
  • 1


#454172 Still Drinking Regular Beer - No Problems

Posted by happygirl on 06 August 2008 - 05:13 PM

This is the Gluten-Free Celiac Disease Forum. If one has Celiac disease, one doesn't consume gluten. Wheat, Barley, & Rye contain gluten. Beer is made from malted barley. Celiacs don't drink beer. Perhaps you people don't have Celiac Disease.

best regards, lm


Actually, there are very many people with Celiac Disease that do not follow the diet http://www.celiac.co...Diet/Page1.html. People with Celiac Diease do drink beer. It doesn't mean they should or shouldn't - but they do.

Josh has confirmed Celiac Disease and I'm willing to bet he doesn't appreciate being told that he doesn't have a condition that he does have.
  • -1


#247766 Is Wish Bone Italian Dressing Glutan Free?

Posted by happygirl on 20 December 2006 - 09:46 AM

RiceGuy,
Caramel coloring, while it can be wheat derived, is very rarely wheat derived.

Also, because of the 2006 FDA food labeling law, it would be REQUIRED to list it it were wheat.

Plus, as Patti mentioned, it is from a company that takes it a step further and will list all gluten.

Please be cautious of information that you share, especially to new people, who are overwhelmed and learning!

Electra-yes, it is safe, I use it often!
Laura
  • 1


#62283 100 (or More) Things To Do When You Are Glutened

Posted by happygirl on 04 September 2005 - 06:50 PM

I don't have a whole ten to add as mine mainly consists of SLEEPING and....

51. Have your darling significant other give you a massage....it is the only thing that helps my muscle/bone pain temporarily. Even for those w/o the pain, hey, you are still getting a massage from your sweetie! :)

52. After you've called your mom, call your grandma! "Older" people can relate to the chronic pain and are so sweet and caring. Plus, you know you'll get an extra mention in her prayers that day, so that always helps!
  • 1