Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


vln1760

Member Since 03 Sep 2012
Offline Last Active Sep 04 2012 02:57 PM
-----

Posts I've Made

In Topic: Sick From Trader Joe's Semisweet Chocolate Chips :-(

03 September 2012 - 09:24 PM

Thank you for your help, everybody--I will go check out the Enjoy Life chips ASAP! As for the facility that processes TJ's chocolate chips, it says there is shared equipment with soy and milk, but nothing about wheat (they usually mention that if it is the case).

I was asking about the vanilla being gluten-free because I have seen some with caramel color added. And while I understand that the there is no gluten in the distilled alcohol that may be used to make the extract, many distilled spirits also have caramel color as a hidden ingredient (you have to contact the manufacturer to find out). I only found out about this problem during the past year after getting very sick from both sherry and tequila in my own cooking. Does anybody know anything further about this problem?

I'm starting to think I should avoid anything that has a brown or yellow color, but then I feel paranoid. However, since I seem to be getting sick more and more frequently, it seems like it may be the best solution:-(

In Topic: Being Celiac In America Is Unacceptable!

03 September 2012 - 10:29 AM

I just wanted to say that I understand your frustration. Undisclosed gluten sources have been plaguing my life for the last year or so. I agree that food companies cannot always produce gluten-free products (and I'm not even suggesting that they change their manufacturing processes or ingredient lists), but there really does need to be better labeling of this serious allergen for those of us who are super-sensitive!