Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


lorka150

Member Since 02 Aug 2005
Offline Last Active Jan 17 2014 06:58 AM
-----

Topics I've Started

Westbrae Naturals Miso

31 May 2012 - 03:48 AM

Hi everyone,
I bought some Westbrae Naturals Miso (http://www.westbrae....s/miso/mbrm.php) when I was travelling because I was craving some miso. Anyway, I figured bcasue it was Hains Celestial it would be okay, because I thought that they note everything.

This company has a line of items that ARE labelled as gluten-free (like Imagine soups). Westbrae Naturals isn't a part of that. I called the company and she basically gave me the "we aren't sure of our suppliers" spiel. Normally I would never buy the item based on this, but I did already buy it because I was away (and it cost $8 so I don't want to toss it or give it away yet!)

I had also emailed the company before calling because it was a weekend. This (below) is what they wrote (note that the link they provide for their gluten-free items does not include the miso).

Looking at the ingredients of the miso, it doesn't include natural flavors. What would you do? Has anyone tried this before? I don't want to take a risk if I don't have to, but I do know I run a tight ship with my celiac.

-----
Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding our Westbrae Miso Red (4X8) (K) (Wb). We strive to maintain the highest quality products and your satisfaction is very important to us.

We consider gluten to be in the following, barley, bulgur, couscous, durum, graham flour, kamut, malt , rye, semolina, spelt, triticale and any other types of wheat. We do not consider oat products to be gluten free due to the fact that studies are needed to determine the long- term safety of oat consumption. The issue of cross contamination with oat and wheat remains a concern in North America.

Consumer health and safety is our number one concern. We do not have lists of products that are specifically considered to be gluten free. Reading the label is the best way to check for the presence of ingredients which contain gluten. If gluten is a major ingredient, it will be specified in the ingredient list. For consumers concerned about the presence of trace amounts of gluten, we suggest avoiding products that include natural flavors or spices.

Hain Celestial Group products that make a gluten-free claim will carry the triangular Gluten-Free symbol, be labeled gluten-free, or specify Gluten Free certification by GFCO. To learn more about the wide variety of gluten free foods we offer please visit www.glutenfreechoices.com. We hope you find the information, recipes and articles to be a useful resource.

Both major and minor ingredients of all products, as well as all processing procedures and equipment, are closely scrutinized and all potential allergen issues as determined by the Hain Celestial Group are declared on our labeling.

We assure you that strict manufacturing processes and procedures are in place and that all of our manufacturing facilities follow rigid allergen control programs that include staff training, segregation of allergen ingredients, production scheduling, and thorough cleaning and sanitation.

Thank you for your continued support. If we can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact us at 1-800-434-4246, Monday through Friday from 7AM - 5PM Mountain Time.

Sigrid
Consumer Relations Representative
----