Jump to content

Follow Us:   Twitter Facebook Celiac.com Forum RSS      



Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts
arrowShare this page:
   
Subscribe Today!


Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Em314

Member Since 12 Nov 2012
Offline Last Active Jul 23 2015 03:10 AM
-----

Topics I've Started

Breyer's Ice Cream

23 July 2015 - 03:11 AM

Contacted Breyer's through their web site because for years now one of my previous favorite ice creams (Breyer's Blast Reese's Peanut Butter Cups) has not been listed as gluten-free despite there not being anything that ought to be gluten that I could see in the label.  I wanted to know if I was missing something of it this was just a CYA issue on their part.  Here's the reply:

 

 

Hello,

Thank you for contacting Breyers Ice Cream.

Through a new gluten-free program, Breyers is able to certify that these products do not come into contact with gluten in the facility where they are manufactured; therefore we can now call this property out on pack.

At this time, if a product does not have the “gluten free” label on the packaging, but it is listed on our website as gluten free and the ingredient panel does not list any gluten containing ingredients (ex. wheat, barley, etc), you can be confident that it is gluten free.

Please, always read the ingredient labels for the most up to date information, as recipes may change from time to time and gluten will always be called out on the label.

We hope this information will help, but should you have any additional questions, please don't hesitate to contact us again.

Sincerely,

Breyers Consumer Services

 

 

They now have labels right on the carton, and almost none of the "blast" ise creams are labeled as gluten-free.  I wonder if this is because of the candy included (Breyer's doesn't want to take responsibility for the safety of a third party's product), but if the candy is what they say it is, it's gluten-free candy.

 

Here's the product page:  http://www.breyers.c...y/113541/blasts

 

So what sayeth everyone else on this issue?  Am I just not seeing the gluten ingredient on the list?

 

This is one of the few gluten-free foods I really, really miss.  Enough that I do wonder if it's worth risking an attempt to eat at some point (and I haven't knowingly "cheated" since I got diagnosed over 2 years ago, for context, lol).


Celiac.com Sponsors: