Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


ByeByeBarley

Member Since 28 Dec 2012
Offline Last Active Apr 02 2013 07:23 PM
-----

Posts I've Made

In Topic: Smirnoff

15 January 2013 - 05:51 PM

I posted that over five years ago. It was true then, and it is true now. If you don't believe me, then that is up to you. BTW, it is Mazola that they make.


Thanks, psawyer. That's very helpful. I'll drink Smirnoff more confidently now!

In Topic: Vodkas

11 January 2013 - 05:15 PM

I drink Cold River vodka - made in Maine from potatoes.
I've reacted to Sake in the past, which (at the least the kind I tried) uses barley early in the process (before distillation). Super-sensitives do need to be careful.


In addition to Cold River's regular vodka, they also have a very good blueberry vodka. Slightly off topic, but they also have a potato gin, which makes an excellent G&T!

In Topic: Smirnoff

11 January 2013 - 04:25 PM

It drives me nuts that Smirnoff just lists "grain". Everything I have read seems to indicate it is made from corn, and while corn is a grain, it makes me uncomfortable enough that I drink Smirnoff much less that I would if I was sure it was naturally gluten free. I think it is really odd that Smirnoff never actually states what they make it from on the bottle or anywhere on their website, at least not that I can find. It's quite disappointing to me since Smirnoff is very popular and would be easier than the others to order at bars.

Apparently, it isn't totally uncommon to do this as this wikipedia page just lists "grain" for several vodkas. Interestingly, there are many naturally gluten free mashes on the list: potato, corn, honey, sugar cane, fruits, coconut, grape, and muscadine.

http://en.wikipedia..../List_of_vodkas

In Topic: Kringle Farm Table Bernardston, Ma

28 December 2012 - 03:32 PM

Thanks for posting this - I'm only an hour away, but had never heard of it. I'll be checking it out soon!

In Topic: Gluten Free In Vegas

28 December 2012 - 02:53 PM

As others have mentioned, I P.F. Chang and Mon Ami Gabi are both very aware and have gluten free menus. I also ate at the Wynn Buffet several times. I realize there are risks of cross contamination, but I felt pretty comfortable using common sense on what was least likely to be cross contaminated. The Wynn overall is very aware of celiac/gluten intolerance and when I mentioned this to them they had a chef come out and walk through the entire buffet with me. One of the chefs also mentioned that the Wynn was making an effort to accommodate gluten intolerance in all of its restaurants. I did not eat in any of the others so I have no first hand knowledge of that, but thought it was interesting and encouraging.