Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


bscmga52

Member Since 27 Jan 2013
Offline Last Active Feb 22 2013 05:10 PM
-----

Posts I've Made

In Topic: Caramel Coloring?

27 January 2013 - 01:36 PM

I am a super sensitive celiac. I can eat carefully sourced corn. Regular corn and things made from it are likely to give me a reaction. I believe that it gets cross contaminated during growth, harvest, storage, and shipment. Corn is often grown in rotation with wheat, and usually shared equipment is used. The level of cross contamination involved doesn't seem to be great enough to bother typical celiacs.

http://soilquality.o..._rotations.html
http://ohioline.osu....y/croprota.html
http://www.organicgr...roprotation.htm

I am a super sensitive celiac. I can eat carefully sourced corn. Regular corn and things made from it are likely to give me a reaction. I believe that it gets cross contaminated during growth, harvest, storage, and shipment. Corn is often grown in rotation with wheat, and usually shared equipment is used. The level of cross contamination involved doesn't seem to be great enough to bother typical celiacs.

http://soilquality.o..._rotations.html
http://ohioline.osu....y/croprota.html
http://www.organicgr...roprotation.htm


After being diagnosed as gluten intolerant, I began eating things like tortillas instead of bread, grits instead of cold cereal and continued to have problems. That is when I began researching corn intolerance as well. The reaction I have from corn is just as bad as from wheat.