Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            

   arrowShare this page:

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Member Since 13 Feb 2013
Offline Last Active Feb 16 2013 01:54 PM

Posts I've Made

In Topic: Tocopherol Acetate Confusion

13 February 2013 - 03:14 PM

Honestly, the only "cosmetics" worry I would have (personally )is if a LIPSTICK contains wheat germ oil.
That should be listed.

Actually, it's NOT usually listed as "wheat germ oil" (except with more conscientious companies like Burt's Bees). "Alpha tocopheryl" often is wheat germ oil, but is not spelled out as such... presumably because the manufacturer is thereby free to use whatever the cheapest, most available source of alpha tocpheryl is at a given moment (wheat, corn, etc..), according to market fluctuations.

For months I was getting serious acne (and i'm past the age of acne) when using moisturizer with A.tocopheryl. I found a moisturizer without it (not easy to find), and the acne cleared up immediately. This isn't definitive proof of having been face-glutened, but it's enough to make me wary.

In Topic: Any Issues With Kind Bars?

13 February 2013 - 03:04 PM

Yes, I did have problems with them. I really liked them, but I had to give them up. I am intolerant to oat avenin as well as gluten, and they make oat containing products. I assume that is why they bothered me.

Hi, I wrote to Kind Bar manufacturers today to inquire about this. I also wonder whether the issue may be the Alpha Tocopheryl / Vitamin E (most typically from wheat germ), which is known to be very susceptible to cross-contamination, since it is, after all, WHEAT.